the cute fur seals of South Georgia

in #photofeed4 years ago

fur seals are deceptively cute an adorable. Take this photo for an example.. adorable? you just want to kind of run over and pet the young animal? well, I wouldn't.. it would not be a smart thing to do. Simply due to the main fact is that they are indeed a wild animal! You wouldn't think as a guide we would have to constantly tell people this but you would be surprised how many people still attempted to get really close and even attempt to touch these animals.


Prints available - Click here!


Luckily enough none of those people nor animals were hurt or stressed during these situations where I have been present. However, you hear enough stories from other guides who've been working a lot more seasons than I have just how bad some situations can get. They can get bad enough where the entire expedition gets canceled due to someone requiring emergency medical treatment, which is a 2 or more day sail away depending on the weather conditions.

As cute and adorable as these animals are.. if you every get the opportunity to go to South Georgia.. please give the fur seals at a safe distance.


IMG_7056.jpg
Click to enlarge


All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram

Or my website for photos and videos
Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

It is cute! I love how you got it looking at you like that.

not sure if it is curious of what I am or if it can bite me at this point...