Sunrise over the Parliament of Canada

in #photofeed6 years ago

fb4d426f-ae6a-4687-aae5-6a4a667137ba.jpeg


Sometimes I feel so blessed to live where I do. Even though the winters are two months too long, and the nights can often be cold! I’ve really come to love the beautiful city of Ottawa, and I’m sure from this picture you can kind of see why.

To take this picture, I left my house at 5am in the morning last winter, then I took a bus across town to the other side of the frozen Ottawa river to get a good spot to see the sun rise behind Parliament. Then, to get the right composition, I walked out more than 100 meters out into the middle of the snow covered, frozen river. On top of all that, it was like -15 degrees 😂😂.

Thank goodness the final image was worth all that experience!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

berautiful, upvoted

Fantastic picture! It's a really Gothic looking building. Ha ha, like something out of 'harry potter 🙂

I’m glad you like it :)

is this place near in saskatchewan, love your shot!

Just a short two day drive across the country. Ottawa is on the border between the provinces of Ontario and Quebec

Beautiful pic 👌🏼 The effort was worth it!

Thank you Martha! Glad to see you still around on the platform :) I hope you’re keeping well!

Yes, thank you! I was just a little busy with work, but now I'm active again and have collected already a few ideas for new pics :)

Wow!!! Such a beatiful place. I’d love to go visit, but not in the winter lol. Have a Great Day from Sunny Florida☀️