My Photos from the amazing Kilberry, Scotland

in #photography6 years ago

Hello Steemit community Rory here, this will be the first in a series of a few posts about my trips to Kilberry over the past couple of years. It's a very quiet, isolated village on the West Coast of Scotland and it's surroundings are truly breathtaking with natural landscapes and wildlife that are truly spectacular. Below are some of my favourite photos of these trips and a little about what they are showing and their stories, I hope you enjoy.

Kilberry View CandS.jpg

I love this view every time I come to Kilberry and have always liked the pictures from this vantage point. The small cluster of rocks just off the shore on the left me and my family know as "Seal Island" due to them usually being covered with seals lounging around in the sun. It's always a fun journey, clambering over all the rocks to get to see them just a few metres from the shore, sometimes with there being more than ten at once. Unfortunately the time I brought my camera they had all gone but it was still fun to relax at the beach beside after the trek.

The land to the back is more of the West Coast jutting out, looking towards Castle Sween, which was built back in the 12th century.

Thistle CandS.jpg

I nearly missed this magnificent thistle when climbing up the hill (to take the photo just above) but I'm glad I noticed because I think this shot came out well, really capturing the vibrancy and beauty of the flower but also showing how spiky those things are!

Sea, Jura CandS.jpg

This was taken standing in the same spot as the first shot but I turned to the left to admire the view over the sea to the island of Jura. I love the way the sea seems to endlessly stretch to the horizon, and the huge landscape you're able to take in from a single picture, it's quite intense. On the left the Paps of Jura can be seen rising up into the clouds.

Fun fact: The word pap is an ancient word of Old Norse origin for the breast.

Be sure to check back over the next few days for a follow-up!

Thanks for taking the time to read my post, it means a lot. I would be happy to answer any questions you might have in the comments below.

Sort:  

Beautiful images of Scotland :) What made you want to share about your trips?

Thank you very much, I've always wanted to share and get opinions on my work and after recently joining Steemit and seeing all the great things going on I thought this would be a great place to start showing it to the world.

Hit the nail right on the head. Same thing with me :) Regular social media is screwed with all the algorithms, but here it's still all community based. People can see and find things they like without being distracted by ads and crap.

Following you! + upvote :)

Congratulations @account-named! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @account-named! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!