You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SOME SURPRISINGLY COLORLESS MOMENTS IN THE WOODS (again, because the post was muted an hour ago)

in #photography3 years ago

Wow! This is a pity, I do enjoy your work, @borjan...

I guess main point is: Rules are put there for a reason, or they wouldn't be called "rules" - maybe we can call them, "...if you like, you can do this... or that..." - BUT they are not, they are RULES. Means no stretching! (And they sound pretty serious about it...)

First, the Black and White community has this (check the page, right column):

image.png

Second: ALL monochromes/monomad posts have the rules printed not once but TWICE, at the top and at the bottom of the posts - must be important, and serious... don't you think?! And the part that applies here is:

At least 50% of the submitted post, including the first image, needs to be black and white (ELIMINATORY FACTOR).

"First image". It wouldn't make sense if the feed in Black and White community has a thumbnail in full colour, would it? Think about it - am sure you understand. Maybe you could stretch your creativity to craft your post around a layout/story that starts with a black and white photo instead... hence keeping to the rules and keeping everyone happy. Cheers!

Sort:  

First of all, of course I understand your point and these simple rules. My opinion about them, is of course different, I think, ad example, that if the feed in the Black and White community had a thumbnail in full color from time to time but the rest of the post is pure monochrome :) it would be a nice and refreshing surprise.
But look, I'm not trying to change here anything. The rules are these, I don't care much about them, but I will surely not upload posts with colors anymore. It's ok, I understand how the community feels about rules and I will respect that of course.