You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SH-BOOM! Being a Tourist in ones own Town - Vintage Feelings

in #photography5 years ago

Two posts! Lovely, evocative posts. I'll start with this one.
I love your retro-hairdo, and the photo. You are so game, so ready to engage and enjoy. It's infectious :)
Ah, the fifties. I was young, but still there is an echo of what your pictures show. They bring back memories of diners, especially. Not that I was in many diners, but when we moved to NYC there was an ice cream parlor in the neighborhood, Jahns, that everybody just had to go to. I think I went in there once. It was quite expensive as I recall.
Quite a trip you take us on here. What an eye, to capture the essence of a time and place. Thanks, Erika. That was fun.

Sort:  

You were born in the early 50s, if I don't make a mistake? You certainly have some memories of that time, at any rate my childhood memories are like this: I still see some things clearly in front of me, while of course details are lost. But I remember, for example, the milk bags from the 70s. As a child I wondered why there was milk in soft plastic bags because they couldn't stand in the fridge and were squeezed into the side compartment. But of course that was only to pour the milk into a different container. HaHa! My parents didn't take care of it and sometimes something would spill over when you opened the fridge. Then I remember the extreme flare pants and the very colourful wallpaper in our living room, just like curtains. And plastic bags with cardboard sewn into them. My father's car was an Audi GL 120 in a silver-grey-petrol shade. It was huge! The back seat served me to sleep on longer journeys. Nobody fastened their seat belts at that time.

Thank you for your stimulation. It's contagious, yes, you're right. It is so much pleasure to watch those who enjoy what they do. I am so grateful for it, just like you. The Internet has its many advantages.

Oh, the diners! They are still a very popular interior design style and never went out of fashion. I love them. But only when they are maintained by owners not by franchisers. I remember the cozy atmosphere, when we visited the states in the mid 90s. Were still some originals outside the cities on the roads from one place to the other. The feeling of sliding into one of the comfortable benches remains forever.

Jahn's looks very attractive and lovely. Thank you for the link. I hope I can find one of the cafes I like near my hometown to show you.

Oh, and look at the bar stools! Isn't that such a fine design?

https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwjdo7PyhqvjAhXELFAKHU0WDxIQjRx6BAgBEAQ&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.yelp.com%2Fbiz%2Fjahns-jackson-heights&psig=AOvVaw0xFFrpa38TOC3ywSQXtAyd&ust=1562871924713157

My dear Erika, another lovely trip into the past.
The 70's...I was in my twenties. I had a felt purple hat with a wide brim that I wore to work. Caused a stir, which surprised me, except among the few jazz fans there, who applauded my sense of style😆. I think wearing that hat to work was my last public blast of rebellious youth. At home I wore bell bottoms, tie dyed and paisley. The late sixties into the seventies...that's when I found my stride. Thanks for bringing it back .

I was born in the late forties(!), but lived in the country until 1958. In my youth I saw little of the world. Ask me about trees, fields, cats and dogs. Twice a year the family would get to see a bit of the world. Easter and Christmas we'd take a train, the Grand Central Railroad, to New York City. When we arrived we'd go straight to the automat. It was like wonderland for me.

You're right... nobody wore seat belts. No cars had air conditioning. The first car I remember looked something like this.

We never had milk in bags. Bottles, but not homogenized. The cream would rise to the top and you could scoop it off.

You have diners in Germany? They are still quite popular here. Actually, I prefer eating there than a formal restaurant if I go out. More casual.

I see you have another blog up. I will go to it as soon as I stop writing this way-too-long comment.
Have a most wonderful day, Erika