Hiking to Hafnir

in #photography6 years ago

Hafnir 2.jpg

Living in Iceland can be harsh. Strong winds, pouring rain, and long dark days in winter. But there’s something that can make your life on the island even more complicated – the lack of car. There’s nothing like public transportation in Iceland. And even on the rare occasions when you can see a bus or a shuttle, it doesn’t mean that you can afford it.

So here I am – equipped with a raincoat, water repellent trousers, trekking shoes, and without a car. I’m fighting with this inconvenience while trying to get the best out of it. I have to become a hiking lover, there’s no way around it, and my first destination is Hafnir, which is located some 10 kilometres from the place where I live. Not that bad, I think.

Hanir 9.jpg

Hafnir 3.jpg

Hafnir is a harbour village in the Reykjanes peninsula with a little more than 100 inhabitants. There are not too many places like it; take the harbour for example – from there, we can observe how powerful and formidable the North Atlantic ocean can be. Hafnir is also known for the American ship Jamestown, which sailed around the village completely abandoned in 1881. Also, some archaeologists believe that Hafnir was the first settlement in Iceland 1000 ago.

Hafnir 7.jpg

Iceland-0252.jpg

Even without these facts, Hafnir is totally worth the 10 kilometres of hiking. It’s extremely picturesque and peaceful, and I have the feeling that the time has almost slowed down to a halt.

Hafnir 5.jpg

Sort:  

What a lovely set of photos, Agne! I love the feeling of desolation one experience while being there. I went to Hafnir on my own while you were at work one of the days, and I didn't see a single soul on the streets.

Thank you, Daniel. Yes, I suppose that you can meet people there only during the summer. That's also what I heard. But tha's the magic of Hafnir :)

10km is far.....because it's 10km there and 10km back. I suppose if you are used to walking that far it's okay. I couldn't do that more than once a week anyhow.

Is that your little house? Cute!

Nice photos @agniese. :) Hope you are enjoying life there. :)

Yes, it’s 20 km together, not that bad, but as you said, not to do on a daily basis :). Unfortunately, it’s not my house, though I like it very much. I would move in if I had a chance.
Thank you Dear and I have some news by the way - we bought a car :))

Congratulations on the car!!! That will most certainly help you get around!!

Thank you, Dear! Yes, here the car means freedom :)