Long Beach Sandcastle Competition!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

image

Hello Steemians!
I spent the day at the Long Beach Washington Sandcastle Competition! While there were many awesome builds I figured I could highlight some or my favorites! All of these builds were created today and the teams had a limited amount of time to work (most of the morning)!


Under Construction

image This team was hard at work creating what I came to view as the most traditional castle of the competition.

image This team took a different approach, creating a punny scene that will be revealed in the finished product!

imageI felt ultimately this was the most creative build on the beach and was my personal favorite.


Finished Castles

imageI thought this team's attention to detail was fantastic, even sculpting cracks into the pillars!

imageGet it? SUBMARINE sandwich! OK well I thought it was clever as cheesy as it was!

imageAgain, I felt this was the most creative and it was also my personal favorite! That fire is unreal!


Bonus Builds!

image This was one of my favorite "castles" but wasn't really included in a scene. Still very cool!

imageAn octopus playing checkers! I think this was one of my favorite scenes and the details of the board are awesome!


There were many teams out there today, and while it started a dreary day it ended bright and sunny! Everyone seemed to really have a good time and some fantastic castles were built! I hope you enjoyed these pictures!
Thanks for looking!
Akuda (Zach)

Sort:  

I LOVE THE OCTOPUS ONE!! What cool competition pieceworks!! I'm not surprised you managed to spend the whole day there lol

I know right?! So cool! 😊

super duper cool :))

it amazes me what people can do with sand))) Great construction work! resteemed

I appreciate it!

Lovely sculpts that reminds of my teenage along the beaches of indian ocean.
Every Sunday after swimming we would compete too sculpting and even making amazing turnels, making alot of fun and communicating alot with the imagery that was depicted.
Amazing.

Awesome! Thanks for sharing!

Amazing camera work

Elrond Huston Aka ehuston

Thanks

This post received a 3.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @akuda! For more information, click here!

Very cool...

Thank you I thought so too!

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 12.71 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @akuda. Vote for Aggroed!

that's too cool! you did an amazing job!

Thank you!

We have sand castle competitions here in Australia, which have similar sculptors like yours. Everytime I'm so amazed and impresses by it. Thanks for sharing your pitcures.

You're welcome! Thanks for the kind words!

Was all this build with sand? Wow!! Amazing?am resteeming this to my followers

Thanks so much! It's crazy right?

great castles

They were awesome!