Photography Journal: the lost ones (dog story)

in #photography6 years ago

IMG_0056.JPG

A few years ago I had the chance to live with someone else in a huge house. This person was very interested in rescuing dogs that were in danger or abandoned, so I got involved in these situations too.

Now, let me tell you something. Back then, I had two dogs that I left in my mom's house. I loved them very much and they were everything to me. But I also decided that, even when I couldn't take more dogs to my place, I could help them to find a new home and a better life. Sounds easy peasy and nice, right? Well, it wasn't.

I got bited too many times when they were scared or when I was trying to clean their injuries. I got scratches almost everyday, because they were happy to see me or they were fighting with me. I had fleas in my bed, poop everywhere and let's not talk about the hair... but I also got worried when they run away or got sick. I let them stay with me when they were scared because of fireworks or thunderstorms. I shared my food because they were looking me with cute eyes. What can I say? It wasn't easy, but it was worth it.

One day my roommate brought another dog, the one in the picture. We called her Linda because we thought she has the face of a Linda. My roommate found her in the middle of the street almost dying. She was dehydrated, starving, has injuries on her paws and ears plus infections and scabies. She had a collar, so it was probably someone that left her there or she ran away and missed. We thought she couldn't make it, her case was very serious. We still tried, and thank goodness we did.

We gave her water and food (she was still able to do it) day by day. We gave her baths and clean the cuts. Once she was able to walk around, we decided that she was going to stay in my side of the house.

Linda ripped my coushions, stole my food, peed and pooped everywhere, sat on my bed, left hair in every corner and barked very loud. But she also waited for me at the door everday, followed me all around, moved her tail from happyness for being around me, never bited me when I was cleaning her cuts and she could notice when I was down, so she always brought the ball to play catch and cheer me up.

Linda was special. Linda was extremly sweet, caring and happy. So until this day I wonder how could someone abandoned her? Either way, I'm thankfull because Linda made our days better.

Eventually I moved out and I couldn't see Linda anymore. We couldn't give her away, so she stayed with my roommate. Linda is still messy, but I think she gets sweeter every single day.

Have you ever met a Linda? Let me know, I'd love to read about more Lindas in the world.

Btw, as I mentioned in a previous post, I'm still working on my english so I'm sorry if I wrote something wrong. Have a good day, fellow steemian.

Sort:  

saludos, buena historia para mi noche de insomnio. Trajo recuerdos de mi infancia, siempre hubo perros en casa pero siempre morían y yo sufria asi que decidi en mi vida adulta no quiero perros conmigo. Pero que bueno que hay personas como tu. Te sigo.

Ay, mariita, créeme que te entiendo. Mis dos perritas murieron hace poco y también sufrí mucho. Sin embargo, acepté como pude que la muerte es algo natural que no podemos evitar. Creo que no hay que cerrarnos al amor por miedo a la tristeza. Fíjate, hasta estoy pensando en tener otro perro jajaja. Gracias por pasar, te sigo. Saludos!