A Stroll Through the Lower West Side of Manhattan, NYC

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I was just strolling through the Lower West Side (West Village, Chelsea) of Manhattan and thought, "Why not share this with Steemians?" It may be hard for some to imagine, but I often forget what an unusual place I live in. I live in the heart of one of the world's most popular tourist attractions! As I took photos (and one short video) I began to see the city around me with fresh eyes. I appreciated the beautiful brownstones, the churches, and even the ostentatious but beautiful sports cars that crawl around the congested city at 1/1000th their top speed.



Inside Chelsea Market.









I just happened to walk by this restaurant which I recently ate at with a friend from the gym. In addition to having an incredibly original name, they also give you unlimited fried sliced potatoes (they were definitely NOT french fries) with ketchup and everyone who worked there was, no joke, at least 80 years old. Except one guy. There was one 20 year old dude and everyone else was a curmudgeonly old man with a red jacket. They only took cash and I'm pretty sure it's some kind of retirement gig for old timers from the mob. It was a good time though. The guy I was with is a forensic accountant who always wanted to write about comic books. Of course, I told him he had to post to Steemit and he joined as @walterego.














Alright that's it for my little tour of lower Manhattan, thank you for helping me appreciate it better! Steem on!

Sort:  

Well, that brings back a bunch of memories! Had an place in Zeckendorf Towers (on Union Square) for about a decade. Glad to see the area hasn't fully lost its "charm", even though some of those buildings definitely look a bit "shinier" than I remember them! lol

If you're in that area again, the High Line Park is always a cool place to check out too if you haven't been in a while.

Yup the High Line is great, now that Summer's here I probably will check it out again some time soon. Only problem is it's pretty crowded.

remember having friends in meat packing that were super excited about it before it was open, i think it was around the time that plane went down in the hudson. i was there that very weekend. i always love to see pics of new york :) i left a very small percentage of my heart in a dive bar there at 4am on saturday morning. . .

Nice shots. The old buildings are my favourites. You can't beat that classic stone architecture.

My favs are the buildings with the hanging plants or vines on them... cool. Thx for the pics and tour.

Thanks for looking!

and even the ostentatious but beautiful sports cars that crawl around the congested city at 1/1000th their top speed.

That made me laugh. A gorgeous BMW like you have pictured needs an open highway.

Love the tour of lower manhattan. Thanks for the pics!

This post received a 1% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @thecryptofiend! For more information, click here!

I love NY. I live in Florida now, but still love NY and always will!

I like the photos you took !
Especially with trees and greens !!!
=]

Nice photos... I'm going to go check out walters page also, lol

NYC is great, lots of hidden places

Never been to NYC. Pictures look awesome!

Great pics! If Steem goes to $20, we can all get cars like that

I believe i have a family member that worked at that restaurant in the 20s (hes deceased now). Lets just say he was from Spain and there was plenty of mob! Thanks for the picta-stroll

Soon there will b a day, when fellow steemian wud say, bought a BMW by blogging on Steemit...

I was like "Hey, that's familiar." When I saw the CMPS logo. It helped me follow your trail! Heh. Thanks for sharing.

I never been in US, but NY is the first city, that i will visit and take the photo whit the bull on wall street. Lame i know :)

Me and the good lady were over in NY last year, what a place, consider yourself blessed to live there! Thank you for posting and sharing. Upvoted and followed for the coolness that is this post..

That's my car! :O

Those are some great photos. I wish that the video would be longer. You have some great photography skills too. It looks like people live with discipline there, and the roads are well-built.

Unfortunately in Pakistan, very few areas are free from pollution and what can be said about discipline at roads! No respect for even traffic rules!

I like your beamer lol bought with steem power! Looks like you had an awesome day! Thanks I'm following you :)

@andrarchy lower Manhattan looks like a great place to explore. Grace and I have been meaning to go to the US together and we are hoping to get there in the next few years. Thanks for sharing your perspective.

Great pics! I love NYC. I lived in NY for most of my life and now I commute there for work. It's a whole world of a difference between paying for rent in Manhattan vs having an expense account to pay for my dinners! (Or my Seamless orders!)

Thanks for sharing the pictures!

Definitely a unique area. But what a shame to have to put such an ugly license plate on the bumper of such a beautiful car.

Great pictures , I'm always around the Lower East side

Thanks for the virtual stroll around NY!

really wish to visit there one day ...

good post...

Was just there a month ago and going back at the end of the month. N.Y has grown on me.

Loading...

The grass on buildings looks like intimate~. thanks @andrarchy. :)

I love big cities, the architecture is divine! The fact that it was an overcast day gives the pictures such a peaceful feel haha Loved this post!