Sunbathing Turtles

I captured these images of sunbathing turtles in March of this year while visiting with @adventuresinlife at a park in Independence, Missouri.  Unfortunately many people don't understand turtles and choose to purposely run them over while driving down the road thinking they are nothing more than nuisance animals.  Because of this and other various environmental impacts, turtle populations are rapidly decreasing.

If you like these photos please comment, upvote, resteem and follow @backrdadventures.

"Back Road Adventures"

Sort:  

Very good photos @backrdadventures. I like it, , Would you like to visit my post and vote??

I will check out your blog....
Thanks for checking out my photo post!

Really sweet pictures. I've never seen that many on a log together.

Why would people think these are nuisance animals? What could they possibly do that annoys anyone?

To be quite honest I am not sure why people feel this way. I know that turtles do carry salmonella and this may be what people dislike. I have personally witnessed people purposely running over them on multiple occasions. It is a disturbing act. I am attempting to educate people to the fact that turtles are an important part of our ecosystem.
Thank you for checking out my photo post!

That's so cute! I've never seen them all lined up like that!

Thanks for checking out my photo post!

Congratulations @backrdadventures! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!