UK ORIGINAL PHOTOGRAPHY - Rufford Abbey - Nottinghamshire, ENGLAND - 871 Years Old!!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Today, we visit Rufford Abbey, one of the most beautiful Abbeys that we have here in the Midlands area. The Abbey is 871 years Old! It is truly amazing that it is still standing!

entrance.JPG

"In 1146 Gilbert de Gaunt, Earl of Lincoln, founded the Cistercian abbey of St Mary the Virgin. The monks of this order, also known as the ‘white monks’ because of their habits of undyed wool, believed in the value of an austere life based upon prayer and hard work. Rufford Abbey was moderately wealthy and able to sustain a community of monks between its completion in about 1170 and its suppression in 1536."
(Source http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/rufford-abbey/history/)

WE shall start at the beginning. After parking up (It is free parking during a weekday btw), we started towards the Abbey. I happened to look behind me and spotted the beautiful Gate House, which I have never noticed before on the many occasions I have been here!

gate house.JPG

gate house2.JPG

Next, we headed towards the Abbey.

path to the abbey.JPG

Before entering the Abbey we had a wander around the quaint front gardens...
front gardens.JPG

rose.JPG

entrance.JPG

There is a coat of arms above the entrance to the Abbey...
coat of arms.JPG

Inside the Abbey, there are huge windows and lots of freaky looking gargoyles...
windows.JPG

gargoyle3.JPG

gargoyle4.JPG

This one particularly creeped me out...
gargoyle5.JPG

The view from these huge windows was awesome. The biggest tree I have ever seen was proudly on display...
tree.JPG

We exited the main hall via the rear entrance steps, to the main gardens...
steps.JPG

gardens.JPG

garden2.JPG

seating area.JPG

orangery.JPG

Whilst wandering the immense gardens, we stumbled upon some unexpected modern sculptures...
sculpture 3.JPG

sculpture.JPG

girl scout chairs.JPG

seat designs.JPG

We then discovered a maze! At the centre of the maze is a fortune teller, so of course I had to try to get to him...

fortune teller maze.JPG

fortune teller.JPG

I wanted to see his face, so I got up-close and personal... Scary eh?!
fortune tellers face.JPG

Such a great place to visit with surprises around every corner. I would definitely recommend a visit if you are in the area! Rufford Abbey is part of the English Heritage organization.

rufford abbey.JPG

back gardens.JPG

I hope you enjoyed our journey together around Rufford Abbey, Nottinghamshire, England!

The pictures were taken using my Fujifilm Finepix S9900W and edited using PhotoScape software.

Some of my other posts you may be interested in reading are:

https://steemit.com/photography/@beautifulbullies/original-photography-art-wonderland-fae-folk-series

https://steemit.com/photography/@beautifulbullies/uk-original-photography-yellow-snap-dragon-fujifilm-finepix-s9900w-macro-images

https://steemit.com/photography/@beautifulbullies/uk-original-photography-cabin-in-the-woods-fujifilm-finepix-s9900w

https://steemit.com/photography/@beautifulbullies/uk-original-photography-sherwood-pines-nottingham-fujifilm-finepix-s9900w

https://steemit.com/photography/@beautifulbullies/uk-photography-art-bark-worse-than-it-s-bite-fujifilm-finepix-s9900w-camera

https://steemit.com/photography/@beautifulbullies/uk-photography-winter-ferns-fujifilm-finepix-s9900w

https://steemit.com/photography/@beautifulbullies/900-year-old-church

https://steemit.com/photography/@beautifulbullies/uk-photography-resting-place-of-english-poet-lord-byron-hucknall-nottinghamshire

https://steemit.com/photography/@beautifulbullies/uk-photography-rare-original-english-telephone-box-colorchallenge-monday-red

Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem & Follow if you like my work! :)

Thank you for looking! Much love, @beautifulbullies xx

Bulldog logo small.png

!steemitworldmap 53.175846 lat -1.035719 long Rufford Abbey, 870 years old! d3scr

Sort:  

red-rose small whale (53)
Send only 0.01 or 0.02 SBD/SD and get after few hours 190% of your fees SBD : I will upvote Comments and posts with Free Resteem to +380 followers

449 followers1874 posts54 following
send your link URL in the memo Joined October 2017

So beautiful, nostalgic and so English . The Maple is so beautiful and red !! I read about Nottinghamshire in Harold Larwood's (cricketer) autobiography. Today I see the place through your camera and words. I am a Larwood fan :). And of course the abbey is beautiful ...

I am pleased to be able to share our beautiful country with you :) I love the English countryside more than the cities, as you can probably tell from my posts lol Lots of trees and nature :D Thank you for you comment!

I too love the English countryside. What can compare to the romance of a steam engine chugging through the beautiful English meadows... ! have grown up on Wordsworth, Shelley, Mathew Arnold, Agatha Christie, Georgette Hayer, Enid Blyton, Daphne Du Mauria, Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte. etc etc etc...Lived in bungalows and towns of British India. I love your country. :) ... You are most welcome, @beautifulbullies :)

Gorgeous post. You've been uncovering some really nice places in England lately. As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

Oh wow, thank you I am flattered! I love travelling the UK and finding the historical and beautiful unknown sites, there are so many! I am always out and about every week, so I will hopefully have many more posts like this to come. I would love to be part of this project, thank you for inviting me!
I am not very technical, so I may need a little help lol But i will go check it out now :)

I see you got the auto reply so all good. I checked the map too and it's there. It is a bit glitchy at the moment and keeps dropping pins, but the coders are working on it.

I would agree with you about England's hidden gems as well. I found many when I lived there.

It is a brilliant idea. I actually said to my hubby the other day it would be good if I could see on a map exactly where we have been! Will there be a filter to be able to see the locations that specific bloggers have been to? That would be pretty cool :)

You can search by author, but I can't it get to work. I will ask @martibis about that actually, cos I've tried before and not been able to see anything, then forgotten about it.

Also congrats on getting curied! I'd already upvoted this so I should get some nice curation rewards too 😁

hehe I know, I was gobsmacked to see the upvotes! It is amazing and I still can't believe it! :D Congrats on the curation rewards too lol we sure love spreading the love :)

Those are really beautiful images, every photo is so nostalgic that it makes viewers (including me) immediately immersed to the history of the place. Every images are well presented and it go well to the place it makes me envision the history flowing through those images. I feel fascinated of it. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you so much for your kind words :) I added the antique filter to try and add the historic feel to the images, I am glad it was successful! :)

what you just did there with the photos is amazing.
And see, for our earlier discussion, it's all working out great it seems ! :) hopefully always !

Thank you, I am flabbergasted! I am extremely flattered that my post has been upvoted so much! I truly doubted myself and my skills, this has really helped me to be more positive and I am inspired to carry on creating :) Thank you to everyone who has voted on my post, I am more grateful than you can imagine :D

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Those are some beautiful shots you took there! The team really enjoyed it!

Thank you so much! I am honored :D

good post and Picture

very very Beauitfull Photos 😍

I hope be like you ..
U really amazing

awww thank you :) You should be yourself though, you are amazing too! :)

Nice

thanks :)

owo

folow upvote and commnet done

plz back

wow......it is 871 years old.....& many old...... building.......it's realy memorible.......place......for england.....

thanks :)

i am not joking to memorible building about.....

Superb Clicks!! Nyc Post!! I lyk your Post!! Keep Sharing!!

Looks like good fun but some of those gargoyles are a bit odd!

pretty scary right? lol

Yep certainly ward me off is I was trying to get in uninvited :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=beautifulbullies
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=uk-original-photography-rufford-abbey-nottinghamshire-england-871-years-old


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

wow! amazing sculptures!

Aren't they just! I didn't expect to find them to be honest, the place is so old and the modern sculptures were a nice surprise!

Wow! That is very old 871 years old and still standing, amazing. Thanks for sharing.

you are welcome! Thank you for looking! :)

I should be thanking you for sharing and giving us a chance to enjoy this beauty.

That's very kind of you :) I love exploring the UK and have fun taking pictures of the places I visit. If anyone else enjoys them too then that makes me even happier and the effort was worth while! :)

I will look forward to seeing more from you. I really do. :)

The gargoyles ARE creepy!! Awesome pictures!