Burg Rappottenstein

in #photography6 years ago

Burg Rappottenstein
Around 1150, Rapoto von Kuenring founded a number of castles in the Waldviertel to secure the possession of the Kuenringers, whose most powerful was Rappottenstein.

The castle Rappottenstein was from the very beginning of great importance. On the one hand, it was in the middle of the extended possessions of the Kuenringers - it was thus a stable center in a turbulent time. On the other hand, however, it also protected the Griessteig, an ancient side branch of the Beheimsteiges that can still be found today in the municipal area, which led from the Danube through the northern forest to the Bohemian countryside. In addition, the castle Rappottenstein was one of the strongest links in that formed on the course of the Kamp chain of fortifications, which had the task of protecting the country against invasions of the Bohemians and thus to grant the Babenbergermark flank protection.

After the fall of the Kuenringer the castle came in 1305 to the Lords of Dachsberg, 1423 to the Starhemberg family and 1546 to the Lords of Landau. Insurgent peasants besieged the castle in 1597, but they could not take it. Swedish troops besieged the castle in vain in 1645. [2]

Finally, the castle came in 1664 by purchase to the present owners, the Counts Abensperg - Traun, whose present possessions are around Rappottenstein, Wolkersdorf, Maissau, in the Weinviertel, in the Waldviertel and in the industrial district, with especially Maissau and Petronell are mentioned.

Rappotenstein 042.JPG
main gate

Rappotenstein 043.JPG
secondary gate

Rappotenstein 044.JPG
the massive walls

Rappotenstein 047.JPG
inner courtyard

Rappotenstein 055.JPG
inner courtyard

Rappotenstein 060.JPG

Rappotenstein 064.JPG
lower levels

Rappotenstein 066.JPG
upper levels

Rappotenstein 070.JPGkitchen

Rappotenstein 072.JPG
castle walkways

Rappotenstein 073.JPG
upper inner courtyard

Rappotenstein 074.JPG
an antique lamp

Rappotenstein 086.JPG
Antique spinning wheel

Rappotenstein 087.JPGweapons room

Rappotenstein 090.JPG
antique closet

Rappotenstein 096.JPGhunting trophies

Rappotenstein 101.JPG
upper inner gardens

Rappotenstein 107.JPG
wood walkways

Rappotenstein 108.JPG
not sure what this old tool was, maybe to separate wheat

Rappotenstein 114.JPG
old horse drawn carriage

Rappotenstein 115.JPG
the wood details fascinate me, beautiful

Rappotenstein 122.JPG
secondary gate

Rappotenstein 126.JPG
a view toward the exit main gate
Rappotenstein 128.JPGthis shows how the castle is built ontop of solid rock

Rappotenstein 131.JPGthe outside view of Rappottenstein

Rappotenstein 132.JPG
and finally a fountain carved out of solid rock, called Steintröge in German

I hope you enjoyed my tour of the Burg Rappottenstein with the many pictures.

As source information I used wikipedia.

DQmaAFY3cYRvDZmJzXzZjPShphSdEyuxt8E8TCqj3HDgsRK.gif

Sort:  

I like such places..with its special atmosphere, history...
Thanks for sharing!

Castles are amazing, I love to think of the history and if the walls could talk, what stories they would tell!

Nice, wish I was there right now

Yes, cool!

Thanks for sharing, these pictures are awesome! Can you just imagine what daily life was life for each set of people who used to live here? How cool! I know most people would love to be able to live in a castle, but imagine the cleaning! LOL. I wonder if this place is possibly haunted?
:)

There must have been a whole team of people cleaning, gardening, maintenance, and of course army for defence. The castle must have been bustling with people.

Yeah, for sure! And they got paid low wages, probably, so super affordable for the masters of the house LOL. Considering there wouldn't have been any "minimum wage" laws haha!

Amazing castle @bernardino

Yes indeed, the castle was fascinating, with all the history

nice place.. :)

Monumental castle!

You explained that places very well here. I am amazed with your skills. These Gates pictures are amazing.

And the outside view of Rappottenstein really beautiful.

You may like my travel series too- Travel Series (Part #1) Bali, Indonesia, Bunch of Beautiful Islands, Please have a look and follow for future releases.

Thanks

Thank you for your kind comments, I will definitely look at your posts, since I have never been to Asia.

Hello @bernardino
Your pics are a great job.
Only a think:
to achieve justified texts in your post, you can use:

Greetings and have fun! :D

Thank you

Excellent Photography.
It's very useful post. So many information of these photographs.

Happy Steeming.

I am happy you enjoyed the photos, thank you for the comment.

You Are Welcome dear.

Very beautiful photos @bernardino

thank you @one.min.crafts

Those places are really beautiful and full of History. What a privilege you have of knowing such great castles. In my country they do not exist, and my dreams are some day to get to one of those. I really liked your publication

Thank you for your great comment, I am sure you will get the chance to visit Europe one day, I am fascinated by Medieval History especially castles, that is my passion. I am glad I get to share my enthusiasm.

Very very beautiful and interesting... I really wish to visit there :(

Thank you, I'm sure you will have the chance to visit some day, always think positive :)

Thank you.. I hope and will stay positive :) ;)

Wou. That's interesting travel story ;) absolutely necessary to follow you. Hope you are going take a look at my traveling experience @kamile

Thank you, and yes, I certainly will look!

Dude, you’re so lucky to have seen a real castle in person! If given the chance, I would love to explore places like that and appreciate its history. I only see castles when watching Game of Thrones. LOL :)

You have to travel to Europe, the history and castles are awesome.

Thank you very much for this impression. Could you maybe add a map to see directly where it is located? It would make the story round.

wow das ist wirklich eine sehr schöne Burg, ich glaub auf der war ich noch nie (außer vl. mal als kleines Kind...).
Muss ich mir mal anschauen ;)

Those places are really beautiful :) @bernardino

Hi how r u pls Vote me and follow me

That's really beautiful and outstanding view of Burg Rappottenstein. It's really beautiful place and amazing photography. Thanks for share.

I tried to share many pictures so you get a pictorial tour. It truly was a wonderful place!

amazing, interesting story, very beautiful castle @bernardino, @jhoni love it, thank you for sharing.

I love history of old castles

Amazinh castle i liked it very much..

Thank you