🌴Masca walk, Tenerife, Spain. Part 2 - The Descent.🌴

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

If you ever plan to go to Tenerife, one thing you absolutely MUST do is take a hike, down from the town of Masca to the beach, where the boat will pick you up and bring back to majestic Los Gigantes. If i started to describe all my emotions and experiences it would definitely be TL:DR (too long to read) so i will try to be as much to the point as possible and give you some hints from my own experience to make it enjoyable lifetime experience you will never forget.


click on the images to enlarge
Masca from top 3.jpg

Wear thick sole shoes. Get 2 liters of water. Bring a snack. Avoid alcohol (if you can). No seriously, you shouldn't.

Here is my post how you get to Masca and what you need to arrange in advance.

The entrance to the path down starts in the Masca town. There is a sign next to it, so look for it as i have missed it somehow.

Masca descent warning sign.jpg

Remember thick sole shoes that provide good grip? There are a lot of sharp and loose rocks, the descent is quite often narrow and steep so WATCH YOUR STEP AND DO NOT HURRY. It's not who is going to get down to the beach first. Take your time and enjoy.

Tenerife day 6 Masca_54.jpg

Tenerife day 6 Masca_57.jpg

I saw some people with the walking sticks, but in my opinion they are not needed and more often than not will be more of a hassle than of any use. It seems they are most useful at pointing to things in this case.

Tenerife day 6 Masca_71.jpg

Sometimes the track gets narrow and you can fall and die if you are not careful enough. Some mild cliff hugging is included, though not necessary. Remember alcohol warning? You can have plenty of that after for celebration of a finished walk.

Tenerife day 6 Masca_74.jpg

But the more dangerous parts are taken care of and additional safety measures installed.


Tenerife day 6 Masca_90.jpg

Does it start to sound a bit scary already? Do not be. Elderly people do that, families with kids do that.
It does involve some sliding and ducking (that is why i think walking sticks are just a nuisance) but other than that i would say it's a track with a difficulty 2 out of 5. Some surfaces are wet and slippery so be extra cautious.

Tenerife day 6 Masca_109.jpg

Tenerife day 6 Masca_141.jpg

Tenerife day 6 Masca_184.jpg

I've heard there supposed to be some wild goats and waterfalls. But i did not encounter them and waterfalls seem to be dried out at this time of the year (January 21st). I had some company however:)

Tenerife day 6 Masca_158.jpg

Tenerife day 6 Masca_200.jpg

Tenerife day 6 Masca_217.jpg

The last boat to Los Gigantes leaves at 17:30 so if you arrive earlier, you'd still have enough time for a snack and enjoy the scenery. This is not me, just some lovely girl i have met on the way down in a company of two tethered dogs lol

Tenerife day 6 Masca_195.jpg

I am slow and i took my time, and a little bit more than 4 hours passed until i have reached the beach,
where boat representatives kindly guided me to a colorful bunch waiting for the boat already. All of them (well... almost)
had huge smiles on their faces.

Tenerife day 6 Masca_218.jpg

Tenerife day 6 Masca_221.jpg

Tenerife day 6 Masca_222.jpg

Once on a boat it is time to enjoy ~20 minute ride back to Los Gigantes and have that beer which is a complimentary one, by the way and included into a price of boat ticket (total of 10 Eur with an agency fee). Ladies get two probably:)

Tenerife day 6 Masca_255.jpg

Tenerife day 6 Masca_254.jpg

Afterwards you'll be taken to Marina in Los Gigantes and can restore some carbs and liquids in one of many bars located there. I do not know why my camera kept focusing on that beer. It is not a sponsored post :)

Tenerife day 6 Masca_283.jpg

Tenerife day 6 Masca_281.jpg

I hope you have enjoyed this walk with me. Thank you for your upvotes as it supports my photography and in fact made these images possible since the gear was acquired with the help of Steemit rewards which would not have been possible otherwise.

80 Megapixel Masca Panorama in Tenerife, Spain.

Gear used: Sony A7R II Sony 55mm f1.8 Zeiss Sonnar T* and Sony a6300 with 16-50.

bescouted.gif

Tenerife day 6 Masca_251.jpg

David

Sort:  

Beautiful scenery out there, los gigantes looks absolutely stunning, and the walk looked beautiful too! Sabrina and I will be going to Lanzarote in about a month and we are super excited :)

Oh it absolutely is, sadly camera can not portray the beauty and how majestic it is in the middle of the day :) You guys have fun!

Your hike sounds so fun and refreshing, and the scenery around looks absolutely beautiful.
Your post reminded me of a hike I did with some of my closest friends at the path that leads to the top of Fairy Meadows, in the district of Gilgit Baltistant, Pakistan. It's a relatively dangerous hike of 4 to 5 hours, with narrow steep paths that not just make the hike difficult but also very strenuous. But once we reached the top of the meadow, the view was so rewarding that we forgot all about our exhaustion and cramped legs. The view from the top is of Nanga Parbat, the ninth highest mountain of the world. Truly an unforgettable sight.

IMG_20170726_154819.jpg
View of the Nanga Parbat, the ninth highest mountain of the world, from the top of Fairy Meadows

I'll be sharing more about my hike and my travels, as well as some of my photography on my blog soon.
Looking forward to being a part of more of your travel experiences :)

Yes, the views pay for all the exhaustion :) You are absolutely right :)

Awesome post, that first shot is especially stunning! Looks like such a nice place to explore! Trips to Tenerife are pretty cheap here in the UK but it's not somewhere I've ever really looked into, mainly because I've only ever seen endless tourists lounging on the beach! Will definitely consider it next time I see a good package deal!

Oh, do not be mistaken, i saw people flying to the other end of the world to Bali to lie on the beach and totally miss the magic inside the island. Tenerife is a bargain, just make a plan, rent a car and travel. It is beautiful.

That's a good point! We actually had a shoot in Ibiza last year, I wasn't looking forward to the place but all of the areas we went to were stunning, and so far from what I imagined! I think we'll definitely look closer to home for holidays in the future, with places like this so close and cheaply available there's no need to break the bank to go half way across the world!

Thanks for sharing such a beautiful post dear keep it up I follow you because you have great skills of photography i love it thanks again

Thank you so much for your kind comment :)

Looks like a wonderful hike. I find walking sticks to be a hassle too. Tenerife always reminds me of that one plane crash since I am such a phobic flier :(

Oh, you should not have reminded me that... I am a phobic flier too :) But then again, much more people die in car accidents each day.

Ah, thanks for this, I really enjoyed reading it.
So detailed - it's like taking the hike all over again.

This was right outside my hotel (Barceló)

IMG_5359.jpg

Sadly, back in freezing London now :(

Cheers

Adé

Oh, hold on there :) Or just get back. Glad you liked it as it took ages to upload those images, i believe internet connection is at least faster in London lol

Beer comes with the ticket, now THAT is a good business tactic.
The place looks amazing, one more place to go when i become rich i guess :D

But that offer was not advertised in advance, Spanish way of business i guess :)

Very beautiful landscapes, the nature is wonderful and to see these places they inspire to taking care of it!

thank you such a nice post,nice landscape and view,it has enlighten steemains more on tourism

Very beautiful)

very nice click

The path to the beach looks like a treacherous descent, but well worth the challenge! Thanks for sharing.
 

It is tricky at some points, but is not that difficult at all. More of a hike if you ask me with some obstacles.

Most of it looked okay, but those steps looked awful, lol. I would have nightmares of twisting my ankle! Maybe it's not as bad as it looks though. (I twisted my ankle at the top of Ben Nevis in Scotland - took longer to get down than it did going up!)

You are right, you have to watch where you are stepping carefully. It's so easy to twist an ankle on those rocks...

@followback shared your post. @messengerbot is a new bot following and informing your post. Follow @messengerbot and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Very nice photos! Amazing place!