Beautiful Story of the Flower Bride

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Willowleaf Meadow Sweet

Scientific Name: Spiraea salicifolia of the Rosaceae (Rose) family.

Other Familiar Names

Queen of the Meadows ~ Bridewort ~ Joe-Pye Weed ~ Lady of the Meadow ~ Quaker Lady

meadowsweet.JPG

Meadow-sweet is a very popular herb, appearing in many different tales, recipes commonly used for love spells and potions.

If you take a closer look at the legend surrounding Blodeuwedd you will find that Meadowsweet is associated with the Flowerbride aspect of celtic folklore, as can be seen in the plant's association with Blodeuwedd, the original Flowerbride, the woman who was created to be the 'perfect maiden', to be pliable and submissive and have no ideas of her own, and perhaps just as importantly, to never really move beyond the phase of 'maiden'. When looked at in these terms, it would make sense that the flower used to create the original Flowerbride, who broke out of the mould her creators cast her in and chose to live her own life, her own way, would be useful for people who have been forced into being or behaving in a way that is not 'them', on a fundamental level. ~Source.


It is also said to bring about happy and positive energy for individuals who make a tea of it or have it simply hanging about in the house. It is also suggested that one burn the herb in the house to release any negative tension.

EldrumHerb has a beautiful in depth article on Meadow Sweet that I find very interesting. I will share with you some context:

Spiritual and Energetic Uses: There are quite a wide range of emotional and spiritual uses for Meadowsweet, including for those who have become rigid and inflexible, due to fear or anger, and who need to learn how to relax as a result.

Meadowsweet is a gentle opening remedy, expanding the psyche and removing barriers and armor gently and subtly, as well as having a strengthening and soothing action. It is especially suited to young women who feel overly self conscious and shy regarding their sexuality, or are frightened by it, especially where this is as a result of sexual trauma. It reassures and comforts, as well as encouraging self confidence and the ability for a woman to put her shoulders back and meet the world head on. It is particularly well suited to those who are tense, and whose tension manifests as tightness and tension in the head and neck.

Meadowsweet is a gentle flower, rather than the more aggressive Dandelion, which acts on the liver and therefore can have a more dynamic, rapid action on the emotions. ~Source.



Meadowsweet comes from the Angelo Saxon word "Mead" because it was used to flavor this drink made from honey.[1]

[1] The Herbal Alchemists Handbook, Karen Harrison.


I wasn't having a very positive day yesterday when I came across meadowsweet, camera in hand. I was so distracted by its beauty though that I let everything negative go, positive feelings surrounded my once cloudy mind, I was so content and happy, with myself and my surroundings, I realized I was in love with all the little blossoms, with over 5 pistols on each, it was like all the beauty of a firework and so much more right before me, in this one floret.
&
Later when I read that it is known for positive and happy energy, especially that of the Flower-bride allowing herself to finally be true, I was delighted and surprised! To think maybe this flower does have powers of positivity and embracing ones self.


•.,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•:,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•.,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•:¨¨:•:,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•:,¸¸,.•:¨¨*
♥ As always, I hope you enjoyed this post, original photography by me, Katie G, content is credited as needed. Take Care ♥

More Original Flower Photography:

✿White Aster✿ ~ ✿Pink Hibiscus✿ ~ ✿Pretty Yellow Flowers✿ ~ ✿Cactus Flower✿ ~ ✿ Vervain✿ ~ ✿ Globe Thistle ✿ ~✿Balloon Flower✿ ~ ✿Bachelor Buttons ✿ ~ ✿Apple Blossom Yarrow✿ ~ ✿Oxeye Daisy ✿ ~ ✿Echium✿ ~ ✿Black Eyed Susan✿ ~ ✿Sunflowers✿

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://www.eldrumherbs.co.uk/content/content_files/profiles_meadowsweet_filipendula-ulmaria.php?state=1

Yes, such a great article on Meadowsweet, I had to share some of her well written content <3

Good post....Upvoted..... I am into photography and art.. I posted my art drawing and saw yours post as well on new feed ... plz check on my post to support my art work.. thx ...

thanks davidad!

Very good post! Many thanks. I'll have to find out if we have something similar here! Then I set up my cauldron and mix my herbs and cook my love-potion to market to the local people. I don't think I'll become rich this way.

Cheers!

Thanks @Kaminchan! It is Prevaliant in Euorpe, Western Asia, & most of North America, I'm sure you will find it! hehe you could become rich on happiness <3

Very nice post. I upvoted it. :)