"REAL LIFE OPACITY" My Curiosity Of Long Exposure Pictures Led Me To LAX For My First Try at Long Exposure Photography - AIRPLANE LONG EXPO

I had always encountered plenty of Long Exposure pictures through Social Media and different blogs, and they would always catch my eye. I always thought that those pictures were photoshopped, so when I learned that there was actually a technique to taking those pictures, I was blown away. The first idea that popped into my head is, how would long exposure photography work with airplanes, and is it possible to do a ghost effect with a long exposure picture. A few weeks later I grabbed my camera and headed to LAX to a parking structure that is known for having a nice view of the planes landing and I experimented with some long exposure. The main picture that I took that blew me away at how it came out was this picture.

IMG_0444.JPG

I like to call these pictures, "Real Life Opacity". Since the thought of Long Exposure pictures to mind, I wondered if I stood in front of the camera without moving for half of the time I set the long exposure for, will it leave me looking like a ghost? and the answer is yes lol.IMG_0775.JPG

Reallifeopacity.JPG

LE1.JPG

Sort:  

By the way, I forgot to mention that the lines in the background are airplanes flying by.

Very nice, I thought they were power lines lol