Time to wash the cat!

in #photography β€’ 7 years ago
Our cat, Shira (yes, like on Ice Age), is usually pretty well groomed 😁 Well, usually in summer, that is... This winter has been exceptionally dry and dusty in Limpopo so she tends to get dirty way sooner than usual. It really doesn’t help that her coat is predominantly white 😣

Arriving back from our weekend in Gauteng, Shira was filthy!! My wife and I were already picturing her jumping onto our bed - you know, the one with the freshly made white linen (of course) 😳

So naturally it was bath time!! Fortunately Shira is quite used to getting a bath. She really doesn’t mind the water (at the perfect temperature, mind you). She tends to just stand still in the bath, without even trying to escape, and every now and then gives off a small, pitiful "meow".

image

I usually take quite bright photos, but due to the white bath and her white coat, these pics really have a high-key type look to them. I actually kind of like it 😊

image

Shame, just look at that wet face... She definitely looks a lot thinner when she is wet...

image

Like I said, she really doesn't mind the bath. One thing she does hate though is the drying part!! Here I was rubbing her with a towel to get most of the water off - she certainly was not a happy chappy - wow, if looks could kill... πŸ˜‚

image

Now let's see for how long she can actually stays clean 😁 Do any of you guys wash your cats? If so, how often? Do they mind the water?

cheeto.blue
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Please upvote if you liked this post, follow if you want to see more, and let me know your thoughts in the comments.

Equipment used:
Canon 6D
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM

Sort: Β 

This post received a 1.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @cheeto.blue! For more information, click here!

Excellent photos, and a particularly cute cat. I like this. :)

I am a cat person myself, but since I'm allergic I can't have one. :(

Anyway, this is my father's cat, Ipsu:

Ipana

The photo is from 3 years ago. I photographed him with my 35mm manual lens. :)

There's a solution for that - just overdose on allergy pills and I'm sure you can get a cat - hehe πŸ˜‚
Cute!! Reminds me of Tom from Tom & Jerry πŸ˜‰

Very cute cat @cheeto.blue. I am impressed she accepts to be showered.

I once made the mistake to take my baby cat (well! she is not baby, she is adult) to the shower with me. She is usually very quiet and never scratches me or protests to vehemently. Oh my God! She was meowing loud and trying to get away from my hold by preparing her claws ready to attack me if I don't let her go.
It was a traumatizing experience for both of us. LOL

IMG_1133.JPG
My baby cat Nekotan is happy to meet you :D

Thanks for sharing :)

Wow!! That is scary 😳
Ah, she is so cute!!! πŸ˜„

Thanks :D

Dude this cat is so chilled out, how do you get him to pose like that?? Lovely use of shallow focus as well.

Hmmm... I see you from SA @migzillion?? Interested in joining our community - Team South Africa?
Have a look at the posts at @teamsouthafrica and let me know if you interested in joining πŸ‡ΏπŸ‡¦πŸ˜Ž

Yeah definitely! I follow teamsouthafrica but haven't looked into it much as of yet!

Welcome!! @teamsouthafrica is now following you back πŸ˜ŽπŸ‡ΏπŸ‡¦
Remember to use teamsouthafrica as one of the tags on all your future posts - this will get some extra upvotes.
Just keep an eye out for any future updates we post and you'll soon learn how you can contribute and how you can get rewarded just from being a team member πŸ‘πŸ»

Thanks!

Hehe - thanks ☺️ That cat is easy!! Just don't try wash the dog 😳

The poor cat she is beautiful, thanks for sharing.

Thanks @bigbear 😊 She is amazing!! Can't believe I'm saying this - but I like our cat more than our dog 😳

By the look of those eyes she is mad at you, lucky for you she loves you and most probably knows she won't be allowed on the bed without the bath. Bribery and corruption I say @cheeto.blue

Definitely bribery and corruption - true South African cat hey πŸ˜‚

We also have a white cat. She cries like a baby if we put her in the bath but she is white and plays around outside during the night... we just put a wash-towel over her eyes and she doesn't move in the bath.

Ah, never tried that!! At least our cat is relatively well behaved when she baths 😊 How often do you wash your cat??

We wash the dogs once a week, but the cat keeps herself clean mostly. I would say every three months or so we wash her. As long as we close her eyes and she can't see what goes on it's fine. For some reason she stands still and we can even dry her with the hairdryer just as long as she can't see anything.

Whaaaaat?? I don't think we'd be able to take the hairdryer close to her... Maybe worth a try though but I can already see how this is going to fail, dismally 😳

Nice photos Iike the eyes. I dont wash my cat. He is ginger and wash himself. Really enjoyed the photos, thanks for sharing.

Thanks @hope777 😎
Ah, nice thing with a ginger is that they don't show the dirt as easily 😊

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Poor cat!!
I don't have a cat, I never knew they need washing!!
Thanks for sharing the nice photos.

Haha - some people won't wash their cats... I'm not sure why though? Yes, they do clean themselves, bit nothing like good old soap and water hey 😎

Congratulations @cheeto.blue! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 0.76 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @cheeto.blue.

Oooooh, unhappy cat, plotting revenge πŸ˜‰. Amazing she doesn't mind getting washed. Great photos. 😼😼

She gets upset with me but like 5 mins later we're best buds again - haha ☺️
Thanks a mil @kiligirl 😎

She sounds like she's part dog πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

Don't even joke!! I keep telling my wife that our cat is actually a dog πŸ˜‚

Lol!!

My cat will tear me apart if I try and bath him - I will end up in hospital - your kitty is so beautiful

Hehe - you should try the wash cloth thing that @giantbear was talking about ☺️
Thanks for the kind words @anneke πŸ˜‰

Uhm..... no

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.22$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Those eyes are just Hypnotizing .

Love it.

Hehe - not only are her eyes amazing - she has an awesome personality too 😎
Thanks for stopping by @arunava

I would say she does not look happy here :p
But what a gorgeous eyes!

Our cat... hmm.. I would need an astronaut outfit to bath her. And she was never bathed. She doesn't go out and spends lots of time cleaning herself anyway.

Our cat loves going outside!! Fortunately she doesn't leave the property πŸ˜‰

Still lucky. We live on the second flood, so out kitty has just a balcony to go out and check on the birds.

That's a lot easier to keep her clean then. Guess that means you have a kitty litter box to care of though 😣

Yeaa, but it's not a problem :) She doesn't make much mess... most of the time :p

Most of the time - hehe πŸ˜³πŸ˜‰

Sometimes she gets a little bit carried away and we have a beach party in the bathroom :P