The Masculine Fire!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

P1020243.JPG

Ever just want to kick back and relax in front of a fire, I know I do especially on those cold winter nights. Tried this same shot with flash on it just wasn't capturing the wondrous glow inside. I'm not sure why I like this shot so much, I think it is the dark to light contrast and if you stare long enough at the fire, you start to see some creep faces :o

Sort:  

Great photo @clanbwarclan. upvoted fully through steemfollower

This is beautiful, and don't look long enough then lol

upvote me

Itìs a very great photo!!!

Muy bueno todo relajado.

I miss having a fireplace in the house, as we did when I was a kid, and we often had fires on cooler nights. The job of tending the fire fell to myself and my older sister, both female, so I've never equated fire with gender, and if I did, it would be female.

In tribal communities it usually falls to the women to keep the flame, for obvious reason, as it is they doing the cooking.

Then again, when my now-husband and I got together, we had frequent fires in my back yard fire pit, and he seemed amazed that I was as intent on keeping the fire going as he was. A lot of good times there, and a lot of fires, even though we lived in Florida.

Now we have a double fire pit in our back yard; one for cooking and one for enjoying. But in our current weather conditions, it's too freaking cold to sit out there for long: currently 14 F degrees and dropping, and last night got down to minus 3 F. Happily it will be warmer in a few days, so hopefully we'll be able to again, which we are looking forward to doing.

Like you, I take a lot of photos of the fire, trying to capture its living, breathing spirit within. Lots of faces, indeed.

@clanbwarclan - Reminds me of the fire place travelers from Harry Potter. Cool shot. You are right - the flash would have just made everything appear washed out.
Thanks for sharing the photo and your thoughts. Always interesting to see what was going through the photographer's mind.

Upvoted full.

Regards,

@vm2904