Lancaster Central Market - Part 1

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

This past Friday my wife and I braved the frigid Northeast US weather, drove to Lancaster Pennsylvania, and stopped at the historic Lancaster Central Market.

It's a really nice place to get out of the cold and take in the sights, sounds, and smells of this wonderful market. The main focus is on farm-fresh meat, dairy, and produce but there are plenty of other items for sale including hand-made Amish crafts, fresh flowers, coffee, tea, and too many sweets to keep track of.

I had an apple fritter that was a perfect and sweet pairing with a mean cup of coffee!


Here's an excerpt from the Lancaster Central Market's website:


Screen Shot 2017-12-31 at 9.25.38 PM.png


If you'd like to know more, you can dive into the lengthy history of this great market by reading the Lancaster Central Market's "About Us" page.














cognoscere.jpg

All images @cognoscere and taken on Friday December 29th, 2017 in Lancaster, Pennsylvania (Sony RX100 V)

Sort:  

BEAAAAAAAAAAAAUTIFUL CONTENT (y)

What a great market with o much variety. I especially liked the fresh ground horseradish. Happy New Year

@cognoscere, I appreciated your photography skills always bcoz you taken very different styles click. This time and before this time I was enjoy with your posts. Thanks for the support and see you in this 2018.

Peaceful and prosperous new year to you all!!!

this post is really amazing, I had never imagined that there was such a place where you have to catch the prawns to eat them fresh, it's a refreshing and great idea, as always your images and comments are excellent I admire the work you do ..

I take the opportunity to wish you a happy year 2018, full of beautiful emotions, peace and prosperity for you dear friend @cognoscere and yours.

Thank you very much for all the support you have given to my work.

Have a wonderful day

That's a marvelous photography of central market. Totally gonna be awesome.

nice photographs @cognoscere
Happy New Year 2018...

cool market👌see any grass-fed dairy there? 😄

This is very beautiful photography and wish your happy new year
Thanks @cognoscere
Have a nice day

I could go for an apple fritter and a pretzel right now. That ad says they sell scrapple! My husband loves the stuff but I know what it's made of so I stay away! I thought scrapple was a southern thing. Interesting to see it in Pennsylvania.

This is wonderful photography
happy new year @cognoscere
Upvote Resteem

thats so cute place romantic in the cold <3

Great captures taken by you in market

I have never been to the US and didn't realize there are such places as the Lancaster market. A place like this you would never see in the movies and I wonder why, because of it kooks a perfect location for a market scene!
It sould be on my places to visit list, whene I go to the US.
Do you have more hiden great places like this to recimand me?

Minutes turn into hours but you conversations never end. Here's to another 365 days on non-stop chatter! Wish you a very happy new year, my friend and wonderful photography

nice one :) happy new year and may your all dreams come true :)

So nice and amazing views beautiful :)

Nice captures of Lancaster market

Fantastic photography
Resteem

So beautiful clicks amazing this looks :) Happy New Year

Market appears to be a whole lot of fun, with even more good food to add to it (especially the fritters). Looks very similar to Pike Place Market in Seattle.
And looks to be a great people-watching place as well. The older woman in the bonnet looks like she has seen a good many things of life pass by under the bridge. Amazing.

Loved the roses and very beautiful pics :)

The flowers were the most attractive ones :)
Nice of you to share it !

you have clicked some really special shots :) Happy New Year

Indah senang lihat

I bet that coffee really helped with the chill. Great photos . I wouldn't mind visiting there sometime. Maybe when it is less cold . 😉

Reminds me of Pike Place Market, where I grew up, in Seattle! Thanks for sharing, I almost moved to PA last year...
Altoona, though! LOL...
I hope those farmers are avoiding Round-Up!!
imageedit_24_3088068433.gif

I've forgotten how much I love markets. I haven't been to one in ages. Inspired, officially! The last market I went to was in Granville - huge place.

This one looks amazing. I'll bet it was cold in there.

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by @chelsea88 (not a bot)

Like stepping back in time, Lot of old wooden buildings in Lancaster.