Merry Christmas from Mount Washington, New Hampshire

in #photography6 years ago

“If you would feel the full force of a tempest, take up your residence on the top of Mount Washington...”
– Henry David Thoreau –


Thursday was one of those postcard-perfect days in New Hampshire.

That evening, I shared with you some of my photos of Mount Chocorua (if you missed them, just click this link).

Just like in the Mount Chocorua photo-essay, click on any image to see a full-scale version.

Mount Washington was another glorious sight that day.

We drove a short way north of North Conway to a scenic outlook we knew of there.

Table of Contents

North Conway, New Hampshire
Original photo by @creatr

On the way through town,

we saw several familiar buildings. They are familiar to us because we lived in the area many years ago, and have maintained family ties here during subsequent years.

This is a photo of Episcopal Christ Church, a picturesque building at the north end of town.

Table of Contents

Episcopal Christ Church
Original photo by @creatr

There is a playhouse inside the Eastern Slope Inn.

We once enjoyed a performance of Agatha Christie's "Ten Little Indians" there.

Table of Contents

The Eastern Slope Inn Resort
Original photo by @creatr

Every community needs one of these.

Memorial Hospital, just north of North Conway, is the facility that serves the community for many, many miles around.

Table of Contents

Memorial Hospital
Original photo by @creatr

We finally arrived at the viewpoint.

The Intervale Scenic Vista offers a spectacular view of the Mount Washington Valley and the mountain itself.

Table of Contents

Intervale Scenic Vista
Original photo by @creatr

We parked the car at the vista.

I got out and braved the cold in order to capture some photos of the mountain and its environs.

Table of Contents

Intervale Scenic Vista
Original photo by @creatr

Mount Washington is a spectacular sight.

At 6,288 feet, it is the highest mountain in the northeastern United States.

Table of Contents

Mt. Washington, New Hampshire
Original photo by @creatr

Mount Chocorua can be seen to the south.

Viewing Mount Chocorua's northern side is not as dramatic as the views of its southern face.

Table of Contents

Looking South at Mt. Chocorua
Original photo by @creatr

Cathedral Ledge is also visible from the Intervale Scenic Vista.

Cathedral Ledge is another amazing viewpoint on the western side of the valley, overlooking North Conway and its vicinity. We did not check, and I am not sure whether or not the road up to the ledge is open in the winter.

Table of Contents

Looking toward Cathedral Ledge.
Original photo by @creatr

Mount Washington is known for its extreme winds.

In 1934, the strongest wind ever recorded on the face of the earth was measured at the summit. The speed was logged at 231 miles per hour. This record stood for the rest of the millennium.

Table of Contents

Mt. Washington, New Hampshire
Original photo by @creatr

Thanks for joining me for this photo essay.

We were blessed to enjoy such a spectacularly clear and beautiful day in the Mount Washington valley.

Merry Christmas to All...

~FIN~



@creatr
Merry Christmas from @creatr


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK An Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

New Hampshire is on my list of states I want to visit. I'd prefer to see it in the fall with all the changing leaves. Your pictures are picture perfect. Very beautiful place. I hope you had a great holiday and a wonderful new year!

Thanks, my friend. Yes, I agree completely, New Hampshire is spectacular in the fall. Depending on how the weather has been, some years are prettier than others. It's been quite a few years, however, since we've been able to see it in the fall.

We had a good trip, thank you, though it was a bit of a "whirlwind."

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you as well, dear. :D

Congratulations @creatr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

All I know is New Hampshire is the Granite State that had a bad ice storm in 2008 and has the Old Man and is the 603...all learned from the YouTube video Granite State of Mind LOL...Youtube is so educational!!!!

the speed was logged at 231 miles per hour.

Having just read your supersonic flight post, I now realize you were within sight of the mountain you noted - this is pretty cool.

Did they happen to mention why that area conjures such mighty winds?

Lydon,

Rather than look it up, I'll just speculate based on my imperfect memory. I had a friend who once worked on the mountain, and believe he was present there in 1934 when the record was logged. He is no longer with us, but he was a dear friend and encourager when I was a young man.

As I recall, the reason(s) are that Mt. Washington sticks up like a sore thumb there in Northern New England, and so is about the first "tall thing" that the winter jet streams encounter as they cross the country. That's assuming that the jet stream is somehow deflected a little downward from its normal altitude when it hits that area.

Now that I've piqued your curiosity, I suspect you'll be able to go look up the real reasons on the internet...

Someday I'll write a story or two about my friend Alex MacKenzie, and his pioneering work in ionospheric radio propagation and his tenure at the peak of Mt. Washington... :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Your recollection makes sense on the reasons for the intense winds there at Mt Washington.

Mr MacKenzie sounds like a real genius. I’m still looking up what his work even means in the dictionary. :)

I have never been to newhampshire. Thank you for the photo tour. Thanks for stopping by my blog

You're welcome! It is really beautiful, but I would no longer want to live there, especially if I had to go out in the cold every day... :D

Thanks also for your visit!

so much beauty :)

came to tell you about the #challenge30days is back from @dragosroua you were participating before so I was wondering if you would join this time as well, I think that's how I got to read your blog in the first place :)

Hi, @j3dy,

Thanks for letting me know about the challenge...

I don't know if I can manage it this time around? But whether or not I do, I really appreciate that you've mentioned it. I tend to be all too oblivious of what's happening on Steemit, so I especially appreciate it when friends notify me of something important going on...

😄😇😄

@creatr

Nothing more beautiful than a mountain on a clear day!

Thanks, friend @geke!

Yes indeed, the mountains were quite breathtaking! ;)

Wow ! Breathtaking views !! Awesome photography my friend !!
Merry Christmas !🎄☃🌟🎁⛪🔔🕯🎅🎁 my friend @creatr

Thank you for your comments, and Merry Christmas.

You are welcome my friend ! Happy holiday !!

Belated Merry Christmas! Thanks for showing us around. The place looks relaxing.

Thanks, my friend.

Yes, we did have a relaxing visit, Thank You... and Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you! ;)

ha ha, get out of the car next time you take photos, @creatr - It's not that cold :)

Kinda hard to get out of the car at 40 mph... :O

Too much fun, not enough time for a leisurely "photo only" day. Of course, we did get out at the Scenic Vista point for better photos.

I also did not bring my "big gun" Canon camera on this trip... But was still happy with the shots I got. :D

The cold doesn't scare me. While it was 50 degrees when we landed in Boston a week ago, it was minus 4 last night at times as we drove back toward the airport... :O

Quaint and scenic. I love small towns and this one is really beautiful. I love the photo quality of your phone.....wow. Clear and crisp. Nice job with this photo travel blog.

Enjoy your road trip!

Thank you, my dear! :D

It's been fun... :D

I noted on Lydon's post that you were just leaving Miami...I was going to suggest you pop by Mar a lago and give the Donald a message for me.😱 Then I thought better of it!!😇

🤣🤣🤣

I really don't have much to say to The Donald, other than "Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand." ;)

Well, I was going to say that too.....😇.....and a few other things. You know about the five fold ministry right?

We used to say that as a joke when someone needed a slap. No, I'm not violent. Man's anger does not achieve God's righteousness. I just like to be silly and laugh at ridiculous things sometimes. :)

I understand the sentiments entirely... Had not previously heard of the five-fold ministry, but I like the concept.

I will be one of those relishing every moment envisioned in Psalm 68:22-23 while I watch my dogs lick up the blood of my enemies... but presently speaking, I am not a violent man.

Merry Christmas

Thank you, and Merry Christmas to you as well. ;)

Wishing all of you a joyous Christmas. A little smile, a word of cheer a bit of love a little gift from one held dear, best wishes for coming year.
christmas-3007859_640.jpg

Wonderful shots you've got there @creatr,may I ask the spec of your camera?

Samsung Galaxy Amp Prime.

Thank you, awesome piece of art

Merry Christmas to you too!
Mount Washington sure does look spectacular.

Thank you for stopping for a look and commenting.

Merry Christmas. ;)

Thank you so much for showing us the beauty of New Hampshire in December. It does look picturesque. I enjoy the photos but most of all I am grateful for your kind friendship. May you have a blessed Christmas as you continue to unwrap the the true gift of Christmas, Baby Jesus an the wonderful love he brings. I got done doing 6 Santa gigs tonight. Soon I will retire for the night. Merry Christmas my friend @creatr.

Merry Christmas, Troy.

I wish you all the blessings of our LORD as well. Have a great day.

Awesome photographer has been very nice thanks to give you such a beautiful photo in front of us