Graffiti of Richmond - Mini Photo shoot

in #photography6 years ago

During a short visit to Richmond, Virginia I spent some time along the riverfront canal walk. The walk is famous for its views of the James River and local artwork. Sure enough, I came across some remarkable graffiti.

This mystic owl stuck me first. I love the intense shading of the eyes and the small palm trees growing out of its head!

This piece utilizes pop art by integrating images of super woman. A bit seductive.. no? 😵

What I like most about this piece is the "broken" wall that blocks out part of the wording. The artist really tricks the eye by painting in such a way that the whole thing seems to be on a torn poster.

This graffiti of the word "Richmond" incorporates multiple aspects of the city, both wild life and industrial influences.

A bit more stirring was this multimedia piece that incorporates clothed mannequins. At first glance I thought they were dressed as soldiers, perhaps symbolizing the victims of war?

Now that I'm writing this, and taking a closer look, they seem to be in sneakers and regular pants. With that in mind, I'm less sure of the meaning. Perhaps instead its commenting on how goals and singular pursuits can consume men and condemn them to a target-like view on life?

No matter the meaning it was certainly interesting to look at!

A more whimsical piece, the one below is just plain cute! I love the tiny houses and trees. 😍

This one is a bit more abstract.. do you see the small fire in the background? The detail is impressive!

Below is a panorama of the open air structure where these graffiti murals are located. I took this shot from the other side of the canal, but the main walk goes right through the building.

Further around the corner is a fun fish filled painting on top of a sewage drain. See the fish on the street? I like how they seems to be spewing from the drain.

Only Rain in the Drain!

I hope you enjoyed this mini photo shoot and if you're still curious I encourage you to pay Richmond a visit! Thanks for reading~

Sort:  

I loved this. I live in Chesterfield just south of Richmond. Glad you caught some of the cool things here.

Yes it made for a nice visit with my family over Thanksgiving. We didn't send a lot of time but what we did see was really cool.

Amazing Art , There Are Many Talented People There , Just We Need To Support Them :) They Made Streets More than wonderful

Oh wow, this is beautiful! Where did you find it?

Great post @curiouser. The pictures and artwork are all top notch :)

Thank you! 😊

this Is blowing my mind

Such amazing beautiful works of art!