Graffiti of Richmond - Mini Photo shoot | Round 2

in #photography6 years ago

I can't get enough graffiti in Richmond, VA! 

During a mothers day walk with my parents, I came across these beauties on Leigh St. 

I was very curious about who the artists are, so I turned to the all mighty internet, and found them!  😎 

Ron English

Immediately striking was Ron English's robust concoction of imagery. 

Starting on the left we see demonic beasts in clown make up. One is chowing down on a steak while the other is leering over a modernize Betty Boop.

In the center, commanding your attention, is a classic Ron piece. The pudgy yellow man with exposed skeleton is clearly reminiscent of the Walmart  “Have A Nice Day”  smiley-face. However the body brings to mind the commercialized "Happy Buddha". An interesting juxtapose to say the least.

To the immediate right an alien bunny(?) rides a four-legged hand grenade while carrying a lighted torch (arguably America's favorite symbol of justice). She seems to be leading the charge into some kind of battle.

And finally, on the far right, is a plump burger boy with a large President Trump-esq face.

If the burger boy is meant to depict Trump, I couldn't be posting it at a better time. See The Washington Post's latest headline (5/30/18):

 Trump, fast-food lover and exercise avoider, tells nation about importance of fitness - Washington Post

Political or not, I think we can all agree that Ron's mural is striking. 

As revealed in an interview with R. Anthony Harris from RVA Mag -  

[the mural] is yet another of his over 100 modified interpretations of Pablo Picasso’s legendary Guernica 

For anyone else not immediately familiar with Guernica (like me) I have added Wikipedia's image below. 

Personally I don't see the resemblance but, as my sister reminds me, I did not go to art school. 😳 

Smithe One

On the other side is a softer, more mystical piece, reminiscent of Hindu gods. 

This mural was painted by Smithe One, a Mexico native who traveled all the way here to participate in the 2014 Richmond Mural Project.  

I love the vibes from this lion deity, the detail is so unusual and extreme it really draws me in.

I found this guy brooding under the lion, I imagine him thinking --

"Hey man, can you get off already?"

I hope you enjoyed this mini photo shoot and if you're still curious I encourage you to pay Richmond a visit! Thanks for reading~

Yearning for more? Check out my last post on the Graffiti of Richmond:

Sort:  

Wow that is some really elaborate work on the wall and amazing too. I have yet to personally find something as big as this in Warsaw.

Its actually quite remarkable, the city of Richmond actually encourages these murals. There is quite a number of them, some even bigger! Its really something to see. The hard part is figuring out where they are and who created them!

Nice pictures @curiouser ! 😉

great post bro i really like this type photography because this photography is very unique ...wish you best of luck keep posting....

Thank you im glad you like it!

Congratulations @curiouser! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @curiouser! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!