You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moon Spires. Another one of my father's photography images.

in #photography7 years ago

I hear ya. It does get a little discouraging when someone posts an amazing blog about some incredible trip or part of the word and it gets 45¢, then a girl posts a selfie with her tits all over the place and it gets $45. I commented because at first, it sounded like you were basically just blaming fellow users for not making your dad's first photo go trending. There are so many factors involved these days, especially since when I first started on here. With tons of new members, posts get buried in the blockchain pretty quickly. I follow you and I never saw that first post myself. Anyway, be sure to show him THIS one though. haha And be sure to explain how whales work and how hit-or-miss it can be.

Sort:  

Nah didn't mean to blame anyone in particular, just felt like something is a bit off and not right when silly stuff is being rewarded more than someone with amazing content who might be open to being a part of the community.

From what I've seen, the community usually wants to bring in new high quality content creators and I've seen that effort made a lot and did not see it the other day reflected in this community.

But perhaps the algorithms and stuff had something to do with it. When I talk to him I will definitely mention the whale aspect and how it can be a bit hit and miss. But now that this post made as much as it did, he can clearly see the potential there and the power of all this.

I think there's a good chance I can still talk him into opening up his own account. But.. If it's just too much for him and his condition. I'll still definitely share his images here on my page.

Oh MAN! Know what else?? I bet something as simple as different tags could have made a difference too. I bet if that post with his lightening one was also tagged "introduceyourself" it might have taken off. Seems a lot of whales browse there, looking to reward good new members.

You know what.. I was thinking that exact same thing after I read your message the other day.. I was like.. If I had used the #introduceyourself tag it probably would have went a LOTTT better.. But for some reason.. I didn't use that tag, it just slipped my mind.. I guess cause I was trying to introduce someone else and not myself.. I dunno.. But yeah.. I agree.. That would have been a smart move and I should have done that!