A moment in time

wwest190902_15723.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

The little moments

pageBreak.png

Life moves so fast and it is good to make sure that you take time to appreciate the little things. Over the past two days, the blockchain has been through a lot and there has been a lot of anger from people because they couldn't access the platform.

I want to thank @crimsonclad for running damage control on the radio and putting up with some of the people who were just there to complain and talk shit on the place that literally pays them to express their ideas and share their creativity.

wwest190902_1576.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

While some people decided to sit in discord and complain, others decided to take this downtime from the blockchain and live life away from Steemit. I feel times like this are good for people, so they can get away from their computers, put down their phones and pay attention to the world around them.

So what did you do while the chain was down?

One of the things I did was spend some time standing in the middle of a yellow jackets nest taking macro shots. After standing in there for a while and getting pretty much the same shot of the yellow jacket sitting on the side of a flower, like this one below, I thought it was time to switch things up.

wwest190902_1499.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

I wanted to make it a bit more challenging and try and get some shots of them in flight. Now this is a bit trickier than it sounds. I had to bump up the ISO so that I could put my shutter speed up to about 1/5000 of a second so I can try and stop their wings in flight.

I also had my aperture set to about f/5.6 to f/7 so that my depth of field wasn't too shallow. This allowed me some error in my focus because this little boogers moved fast. I had to use manual focus and I tried to focus on them while they were on a flower and time it so right when they took off, I would press the shutter. It is nearly impossible to know when they are going to take off, and when you are so close with the lens, any movement pretty much takes them out of the frame, so you have a split second to get the shot.


Oh and you are also surrounded by hundreds of yellow jackets, so you can't make any sudden movements or take any steps because you may step on some and you don't want to piss the nest off.


Overall it was a pretty fun time and it definitely got the blood going. I probably wouldn't have done this if the blockchain wasn't down. Just remember, it was down for about a day and a half, which is nothing but a moment in time. The memories you make each day are what is going to last.

wwest190902_1579.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

Sort:  

Stunning pics and if we can see the little things in life, how blessed are we?

great close ups! I guess when you are in the zone, you forget the danger if you get them pissed off, lol

Thanks man. I was trying to be aware of them, but sometimes I would lose track and then snap back to reality and think I was about to get stung. Especially when I was leaning in super close.

wow!
scary wasp!

lol, it wasn't too scary being in the middle of all of them.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

These shots turned out amazing!! Great job!!!!! And I love the thoughts around this post :) .