Nagusa Itsukushima Shrine, Tochigi, Japan: Gold Minerals Flowing from the Stream. { Photography }

in #photography4 years ago (edited)

6D1A9D0450BC4C94B5861277923DD2D9.png

Sunday is the perfect day for a hike and some photography especially in these Covid times. Today I went to Nagusa Itsukushima Shrine in Tochigi prefecture. It was the perfect way to calm the mind after running errands and having some Lamb Biriyani for lunch. The interesting thing about this place is that gold coloured minerals flow naturally from the stream. You should have seen me trying to grab some. 😂

At the foot of the hiking trail there is a fishing/BBq place where you can do some controlled fishing and have them BBQ it for you on the spot.This spot also has a mini zoo as well that kids would enjoy; beetles, turtles, cray fish, small fish and more. I guess I will bring the kids here soon. There are many Japanese summertime foods on sale as well like yakisoba, shaved ice and beer.😁

This is mainly a photography post so I there will be short description under each pic. Yeah, who likes to read right?

2A1761DFB1CA419AA6B2E712AD1BEB20.jpeg

Like most shrines a gate called a Torii is at the entrance to Nagusa. It lets you know you are entering sacred ground.

C4BC42F7E0634835A3F3E8E07D0F9B2A.jpeg

Tall trees went as far as the eye could see with sounds of summer creatures giving the perfect abience of... the woods. .

3D2B63AE2E9A49F9B5D688529C994942.jpeg

This is where shi got real and the uphill battle began, The humidity had sweat pouring.

72C75F054DA84FB999D4C5CBDE991219.jpeg

A second gate. Not sure what they call this one but it is there to let you know that the shrine is ahead, even more sacred ground.

04B3F15BF8324D9EBE88F0B35EFC73F5.jpeg

As I passed the gate, to the left there was a Buddha statue playing a guitar/shamisen looking thing. Seeing it really made me feel at peace. I think I am part Buddhist 😌.

7135310AE5B74A18B9BF2B156052D58C.jpeg

13549AB4299C4742B87EAAEB3618BF9C.jpeg

This is the gold looking mineral I was talking about. I am not sure of the name. I grabbed some with my hand it basically looked like glitter that kids use.... some grown women too.

03525F45B75942BE95F8DD52B319C1F3.jpeg

A60F010C20DE4C81B2398307E3261A90.jpeg

I think this is the best pic of the day, the moss, the rocks, the red bridge and of course, the shrine center stage.

6B2FFB987449465D9E71C03F5957F7E6.jpeg

Across the bridge to the right there is a path leading further into the woods. I went up there but decided not to go too far as night would fall soon. I have gotten lost on hikes before, not fun.

DA10B3BCBDFD47A2B99DF041FC6FB2AE.jpeg

After throwing 100 yen in the offering crate and using the rope to ring the bell, I said a little prayer to the creator and was on my way. But before I left, one more snap.

image.png

Thanks for taking the time to view this post. Hope you liked the photography. I am not a professional but do it for the fun. Oh, by the way, If you are into Reggae, do check out the ReggaeJahm Community 😁

Camera: Canon M50 AKA KissM
Lens:18-150mm
Editing:Light Room on iOS

Sort:  

I like the photo you chose for your Tweet the best. The rural shrines in Japan are so picturesque, it's a great place to practice taking photos because most of them are going to look great. My secret is just taking 100~200 photos and choose 10 ~ 25 for a blog. Actually the pros do the same trick but probably 10X as many don't make the cut.

Thanks, yeah that shot looked the best to me. Tryst me, many didn’t make the cut. I could have taken way more though but I just couldn’t be bothered. The light room edit makes a major differences too. Gotta love those countryside shrines.

Yeah, I can tell. I use photoshop express which is basically the same thing until you go for the full programs.
It's definitely saved a lot of photos and can even make cellphone pictures look great.
This is an addictive hobby, but I like taking it at my own pace.
After a good trip I sometimes print some out in collages on A4 photo and putting them on my wall.
I also save the ones that look best in widescreen and have a folder I put them in for my computer desktop background.

Good idea with the printing out and putting them on the wall. Nice reminder to take more photos and bring up the memories. Yeah I'm loving the apps, for some reason my camera by itself takes some really bland photos. One good thing about this hobby though, it makes you seek out new places to visit. Big up your bro for me, I've been using his photos from his trip 😏

Hmmm I'm gonna try that cover pic as a wallpaper.

Your photography is awesome 👏

Thank you. I think I'm getting better... finally.

OMG!!!! What a wonderful place, I wish I could visit there. I hope you are doing great, after a long time I have seen your photography post...
Excellent photographs....

You will soon enough. When you do I’ll show you a few places. Thanks, I’m glad I found a new spot to snap some pics and that you like em. 😃

Congratulations @dmilliz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 7500 comments. Your next target is to reach 8000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thanks DIY and @priyanarc. Much appreciated 😊.

Wow!! I didn't know this place! I have to go here!! Thank you for sharing!🙌🙌🙌