Getting away from the city - Kawau Island

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit,

This blog post is dedicated to my 'home away from home'. I am from New Zealand as you may or may not know. New Zealand is a beautiful country with many gorgeous places but I wanted to share one that I visit frequently called Kawau Island. It is an island located in the Hauraki Gulf, close to the north-eastern coast of the North Island.

North Cove
IMG_0549.jpg

I immensely enjoy coming to this place because it's an amazing space for me to clear my head and remove myself from the stresses of city life, even though I enjoy technology and the city I believe it is important to get away. Sort of like clicking the 'refresh' button in your head. There are no roads, no cars and barely any shops apart from a small fuel station for boats and a restaurant. People just get around by using boats and walking. It does feel as if i'm in a different country at times. There is no broadband internet there either so when I am there I tend to not use my mobile phone as much as I would at home.

Starboard Arm
IMG_0529.jpg

I am lucky enough to have a place like this to retreat to and I always come back feeling refreshed and ready to get back into work/study. When I am here I like to walk off into the forest and mountains to explore, or over to the beautiful and usually deserted beach. As well as reading books, listening to music and relaxing.

IMG_0498.jpg

Hope you enjoy the photo's!

Sort:  

Those who are rooted in the depths that are eternal and unchangeable and who rely on unshakeable principles, face change full of courage, courage based on faith.

Hey, I am a bot and my goal is to bring a smile
on your face with an awww picture:
cute_husky_awww
Source