You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SH-BOOM! Being a Tourist in ones own Town - Vintage Feelings

in #photography5 years ago

Ah, how interesting, engineers certainly also need to know something about statics, connections and materials. My man is a graduated architect and over the years I have picked up a lot of him, especially the love for curved lines and unusual facades such as interiors. Also for clay buildings. The buildings in Timbuktu are very beautiful and also functional and suitable for the local climate.

Architecture is probably the strongest expression of a society and how cities are conceived and built shows the psyche of the people living there. Much of the structure built around us influences us in many ways, but we don't always notice it. I recently tried to imagine what it would be like if all tarred streets were full of trees instead of smooth surfaces. But when we went on a weekend trip the other day, I said to my man: "Actually, roads are not only useful to move around, if they didn't exist, we wouldn't have any boundaries of the big monoculture fields and no trees, because a lot of federal roads here in Germany are lined with avenues". I know it's not quite logical, but it was an interesting thought.

No, I didn't hear anything about the attack in India. I don't watch news. And if it's really important, people will tell you anyway. I don't read current newspapers either. But I like high quality business magazines like "brandeins". Not sure if the website is available in English. Otherwise have a look.

You have been involved in building hotels? What was your most impressive experience or were there special breakdowns or other events and people that impressed you in this context?

Sort:  

Ok, now it is no wonder to me why you are so authoritatively speaks about buildings and architectuare. Your man might had influenced you a lot, but it is only possible when there is a calibre to understand and visualize the things in the way that is to be considered.

From the way you talk about Architecture, its feautures and influences you could possibly write some articles I think. You are exactly true, Architecture plays a predominant role in shaping a city's culture or how it can be the address that may have a long lasting impression to the world.

That was a funny observation about trees and roads, in fact only some serious brain could think about such kind of imagination most probably.

That attack which I mentioned was happend in 2009 and it was a globally discussed terror strike.

Had been to India ever? Make a visit with family. It would be worth, you could be able to see some Indian culture, some old buildings and forts which you could feel some interesting including the Taj Mahal.

Cheers, Have a nice day.

Yes, buildings are the public relations, the expressions which speak for themselves as well as the intentions of what decision makers want to broadcast into the world. A building says: Look at me, here I am and I stand for a particular message. As nobody can walk along and oversee it. All emperors of the past have used that tool to demonstrate power. For both, the bad and the good. I see that you see that, too.

I may sound merciless but terror strikes I am unwilling to pay my attention to, as they are an extreme form of wanting attention and pointed at the established or hated power structures by hurting the innocent. People are caught by them too emotionally and then make decisions out of fear or revenge. That is wrong and pays into what extremists are up to.

But of course, if you were near such an incident you might think differently.

I have never been to India. I decided about eight years ago not to take a plane again. It's actually a personal thing, my own contribution to protect the environment but I do not judge others who use air crafts. Everyone must know what he does. Theoretically I could visit India by ship or by train. But I guess that would be far too expensive and it would be a decision well thought through and nothing like a vacation just for fun and little money. Measured by German standards, I am a poor earner. But I don't feel poor. Cause my environment is rich and there is so much one can live off for years and years before everything is used up and worn out.

Taj Mahal is an impressive and beautiful building. I've seen numerous pictures and admired it a lot. In the same way I admire the garden of one of the houses in the village I grew up. The gardening skills of that family are gorgeous and I wonder why nobody copied their style. It should be a role model for the other villagers but I think as long as not a significant number of house owners copy that style, things remain as they are. People are habit "monsters" :)