Symbols Photoshoot on the Billings Rims - Tom D'Artiste and Evening Star Collaboration

in #photography6 years ago

“Far more powerful than religion, far more powerful than money, or even land or violence, are symbols. Symbols are stories. Symbols are pictures, or items, or ideas that represent something else. Human beings attach such meaning and importance to symbols that they can inspire hope, stand in for gods, or convince someone that he or she is dying. These symbols are everywhere around you.”
12495174_1295307660494727_8284700354989180650_n.jpg

“Among other things, you'll find that you're not the first person who was ever confused and frightened and even sickened by human behavior. You're by no means alone on that score, you'll be excited and stimulated to know. Many, many men have been just as troubled morally and spiritually as you are right now. Happily, some of them kept records of their troubles. You'll learn from them—if you want to. Just as someday, if you have something to offer, someone will learn something from you. It's a beautiful reciprocal arrangement. And it isn't education. It's history. It's poetry.”
― J.D. Salinger, The Catcher in the Rye
12512521_1295072280518265_4334059790612741337_n.jpg

This photo shoot showed up on my On This Day notifications on Facebook today, and I thought I would take the opportunity to share these with you. This photo shoot was in 2016, two years ago on the Billings Montana Rims with a Montana photographer and dear friend of mine, Tom D'Artiste. You can find him on facebook ! I did all of my own makeup for this photoshoot , and love how these images came out :) These are just a few of my favorites !
12552848_1294788397213320_1849485012399374990_n.jpg

If you liked this post and would like to see more like it, let me know in the comments below!
Thanks so much for supporting my blog here on Steemit!!!
12507531_1294794170546076_1452683292780044281_n.jpg

Brightest Blessings!!!!
SO MUCH LOVE!!
Evening Star

Sort:  

Very nice. I'm curious though if you personally selected each of the symbols adorned and if they have significance to you. :)

Some were hand selected , others were my own imagining of symbols. Others still are classical symbols that persist through time and space . The taurus symbol on my chest represents my sun sign. The trinity on the right arm is a age old symbol present in nearly all religions. The cross on the neck of course is easily recognizable.

it's interesting..

Thank you!! Art should be interesting, in my opinion.

thanks for sharing
I'm following your account

Thank you!! I look forward to seeing more from you!!

Great photos, and article. You are a really good writer, reading all those awesome books really can pay off ;) Catcher in the Rye is one of my favorites.

I have been in love with Catcher In the Rye since i first read it in my highschool Poetry/Novel/ Drama class :) I was lucky to have a great teacher to introduce me to the classics !

I think it was my 8th grade teacher :)