Frozen Fog in Black & White

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

fog1.jpg

Foggy and cold winter morning two days ago. Photographing fog is really hard, especially when everything around is covered in pure white snow. I decided to turn these into black & white because I thought it made them look pretty cool, like an old film photograph. B&W also works great in making you see the mood the nature had at the time I was taking these.

The weirdest moment was when I walked under those big power lines and in this weather, they make the most eery sound ever. Low hum of electricity, so powerful that it actually makes your head hurt.

@talltim needs to come and write something for these pictures, he would know exactly how to portray the mood without even having to use these pictures.

fog2.jpg

fog3.jpg

fog4.jpg

fog5.jpg

fog6.jpg

Shot with Nikon D7200 and Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G.

Sort:  

I speak to the wind,
Flowing Fog
as tendrils flow...
Wishing to erase, all my flaws.

The beauty of winter! I agree with you about @talltim! ;-)

Wires sing in sloping curves.

Faded light under blurry skies.

Wandering eye, frosted skin.

Was at the end, now I begin.

You inspired me to write something. I won't say its equivalent to your poetry. I think your poem is much better. I tried to write a poem and would probably have succeeded were it not 5 a.m. and my brain half asleep, but here's what I got, and I hope I'll be able to continue something in these lines. I called it "The Death of the Ice Princess".

The night she died she brought her heart to hell. The red pines that covered the horizon were wrapped with the whitest glow these fiery pits had seen. Their leaves became pointy with crystalline ice. The rivers of lava became glacial rocks, shining like mirrors.

Her eyes, which hadn't lost their lustre, conquered all creatures who survived her might. And there she reigned, seen and admired. Her heart was her realm and everything around it its domain. It always stayed in her hands, like a ruler's scepter.

wow, very good lines.

I think it goes really nicely together! :)

So white, fog and snow joined together. One would think the pictures would be oversaturated. But you managed to do it. I admire your photographic skills, @eveuncovered. To see the cristalline nature of cold water, reflecting all the light, becoming white under the fog.

Thank you for sharing these with us. The beauty in your pictures is awe-inspiring.

Totally Agree with you @cryptosharon. And @eveuncovered Man great pics seriously loved it.

I hope i can use it. ;-p
photo6287572263393929171.jpg

Ooh, of course you can use this pic as a wallpaper! That’s pretty sweet actually :)

very nice wallpaper at phone i like it.

Hahahahaha, that's a great usage of her pics. I wish I had a smartphone to do the same, although I tend to like darker things not to hurt my eyes.

Wait until you see how the snow sparkles in sunlight, I have lots of pictures of that :)

Thank you for your nice comments!

B&W snow pics are a pretty cool effect and it isn't that commonly seen. Well done

Hey
keep following me on https://steemit.com/@leoyaqoot
where you can have some good knowledge about cryptocurrency and life tips

Sometimes black and whites serves as escape routes when I don't get the colours I need.
Great photos Eve.

50 Shades of White!

That’s a new one :D

naver though frozen ..can be that awesome

Awesome photography!!

The first picture didn't even look black and white
I thought the fog made it so

is that the same cabin you photographed the other day?

That old barn is visible in my landscape shots from the countryside pretty often 😁

it's a great muse

Very nice atmosphere, I like this foggy white !

Sometimes black and whites serves as escape routes when I don't get the colours I need.
Great photos Eve.

This was no escape, the colors were actually pretty good to begin with, but I know what you mean ;)

Oh. Would love to see them in your subsequent posts 😍

Really looks cool just like you mentioned earlier. Nice job keep it up

It's soooo white it's almost a black and white filter... Eerie!

Great picture
A big thanks to Nikon for revolutionising field of photograghy.without that its pretty impossible to understand the correct emotion behind. #Dslr

I know it won't be easy for you to snap this photograph because of the weather conditions (snow and fog together) still you did a great job, especially the fact that you turn it to B&W just for us to see the mood nature had at that time.

Daaamn. Those look positively fridgid. We get days like that here a lot. I'm more tempted to hibernate though...good on you for getting out to shoot.

Nice shots.

You stay inside, I’ll show you how the weather looks like :)

Thanks!

I really like your posts and I enjoy very much with all your posts.👍

This is beautiful......chilling beauty!

Nice shots! I see these kinds of landscapes often so I feel right at home, haha.

cold weather, Beautiful view

Hello @eveuncovered I just upvoted this post! Very beautiful pictures! Check out this post of mine, i think you'll love it! https://steemit.com/life/@eluemina/races-of-the-multiverse-zeta-grays Enjoy!

Beautiful Eve the first shot is my favorite!

Thank you Adrian! :)

Great photos love it

Amazing shots! Would you mind me placing one of them on my wallpaper ??? :)

Don’t mind at all :)

WOW amazing pics, you must work for national geographic, i really really fell in love of thos photos, congrats :D.

I have a long way to go in terms of quality until I’m at National Geography level, but thank you! :)

Wow!

These are beautiful. Especially the one @swpnl is using for his phone background. I would totally hang a large print of that.


Very nice photos and very nice written ! Make sure to check my profile.

this moment, caught in the www.

Nice shots! Makes me wish for winter here in my tropical country. Lol :)

You show the beauty of winter on there. Maybe a little bit contrast Will make it better. Nice post. I never see winter because there are no winter on my country. Seeing this photo make me want to see it and play in there !

Foggy winter morning i just miss this sight long long years. thank you for this foggy natural image sharing.

Lovely mood. Makes me want a hot beverage...

Wow danger

You achieved a very calming mood with your pictures, I especially like the ones with the power lines. Good capture!

I understand the struggle to take the pics when its full of snow out there, outstanding work .

Oh my.. that third shot! Poles, snow and fog.. It cant get any better than this :D
Gosh... winter is so beautiful!

Beautiful pictures! I love the creativity behind this work, fog is really hard to capture just as you mentioned. The feeling is like from an old movie :)

good !!

sooo pretty! Photographing fog is reallly hard #relatable

Beautiful photos!

although black and white, the pictures makes sense and amazing.

Vote your post and follow you
Please my post vote
Thanks