My Art is Suffering

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

suf1.jpg

My self portrait work has always been about letting out some build up negativity, so you know, I don’t end up killing anyone. And I really like doing moody portraits! I think my pictures are more true, raw, intense and interesting when I feel pain. It turns out that being newly unemployed, I don't have much negativity in me at the moment.

I’m just too damn happy. Fuck.

First world problems anyone?

suf2.jpg

Just look at that face trying to act a little moody, nope, I ain’t buying it. It seems that bitch needs to learn how to act. I can’t even lie because my eyes are so expressive, they give me away immediately.

suf5.jpg

suf3.jpg

suf4.jpg

suf6.jpg

suf7.jpg

suf9.jpg

suf8.jpg

For now, you need to enjoy my happy go lucky, chummy, giggly sort of self. I’m sure it won’t be the case for too long, because I'm a girl and all.


I take all my pictures myself with the Nikon D7200.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

My dear, did you need me for something?

Always. But let's see if the package I get tomorrow has a desired effect...

...full of hatred pain and agony.

I’d expect nothing less from you, love.

Nope, didn't work. Smiling even broader!

I can make you this, I can make you that...kyllä se itku sieltä vielä tulee ;P

Being true friend and all, I can come and smack that smile off from your face. Cauz I'm just that amazing friend !;D

You are a true friend<3 What would I do without you!?

Good thing you are happy... still ,you are a girl after all, at least once a month you will turn into Cthulhu and chant the words of the devil

You are absolutely right!

control.jpg

If this dude pointed his middle finger at me w/ an effing cigar i'd break his finger then shove his cigar down his throat, what a beach patrol wanker!

i would sell him some acid and have a laugh :-)

Go for showing off a lighter side you have alot of open opprotunities with the recent events and all I for one love it

It turns out that being newly unemployed, I don't have much negativity in me at the moment.
I’m just too damn happy. Fuck.
First world problems anyone?

I told you it would be great.

Great comment.

Wow these bnw pictures are so beautiful you made it more beautiful with your sweetness!
cheers!

I completely understand you! The darker the place i'm in - the more creative i get. But yeah - from time to time life wants to mess with me and i feel happy - it helps when eventually everything goes back to hell and i have a burst of new and fresh ideas - but the dry points are sometimes killing me. What works for me is books. I suggest you check out (kinda doubt that you haven't tho) H.P. Lovecraft. He writes some dark and depressing stuff that always inspire me when i need to go in a bad place. Here is a shot from when i was in a fresh relationship and was happy af, but still managed to pull this out of me with almost nothing.

Basement.png

But tbh i have found out that some down time and recharge is good for you! Allow yourself to feel and express the happiness in your shots. Discover some different aspects of your art and maybe you will find something new or a good way to combine them. Take some colorful happy-ass portraits and let us see the outcome.

You are Beautiful :)

Smile make life easier and bring good contenance, the pictures are so good .

wow...you look fascinating :) @eveuncovered

It takes time to get good at self portraits, especially if you're using them to express deeper emotions. Keep at it! Don't give up, and don't hate your failures. That was the hardest part for me. And go with the flow, don't feel like you have to be static with how you frame, light, and express. They're your private pictures until you decide to show them, so have fun with it!

The way of taking these photos is professional, the effects with the colors is attractive.

Well done !! I respect professionalism especially in photography. Go Ahead.

Those are some very engaging captures :) It's true, the eyes defnitely struggle to lie (for teh majority of us I would say) but it all makes for interesting photos.

I totally get what you mean, as a writer my pain and struggle are often a great motivator for the creation of some truly powerful art.

I don't think that those pictures are any less interesting because you are happy. Happiness is not something you should fear. I believe that happiness should be a natural state of all living things. World is full of majestic places, interesting sounds and views. Nice people. strange beings and plants. everything combines in to one glorious journey that we call life. So why should we not be happy most of the time?
keep on smiling and the whole world will smile with you...

Those are some interesting pictures.might be inspiration for portrait photograghy for many. : )

Art of Suffering is the deepest and most emotional art you can master in life, welcome in the club 💖

Great pictures..

I find it hard to believe that being too happy is a problem, you look happy! Be happy for that, a lot of people dont have that luxury ;-)

Wondrous life really gives you goodies. Always smile.

You look so happy and a bit playful in these photos, nice! Happy is what we all should be :) Enjoy it while it lasts! Oooooor, make it your permanent state.

Which city are you from btw?

Well of course happiness is the end goal.

I prefer to keep my coordinates hidden :P

Fair enough!

Great portraits! I've been meaning to take some of myself, but I struggle getting the focus right without someone else there. Who takes yours for you? Or do you just do it yourself?

I take all my pictures myself, hence the SELF part in the portrait. It is a little tricky sometimes to get the focus right, but definitely not impossible.

Beautifully expressive pics! Being unemployed doesn't have to be a bad thing. Best of luck to you with new and more rewarding endeavors.
P.S. You wrote "build up" instead of "built up".

great picture! I am new to steem please follow me back if you like :) @morfee

You do have a job though... it's called being cute. You are working hard in the cute mines making more cute for the world!

Hahahhaa! Being cute never paid the bills, not before Steemit :D

The attititude filled bitchy face is very hot, but have to say, a happy smile and an honestly good mood induced smirk is much better still :P

Well I know you are a weird one and like the Gremlin-me :D

Hahahaha, certified weirdo! Mutta minkäs teet kun oot nätti höppänä kans :P

Great work. Fantastic lighting. Keep it up!!!

not bad =D

haha, looks like someone is snapping them for you. Good work!

My art is joy, reverence, gratitude... <3

Hey i like your framing with the chair and the light setup. What was your light setup? It puts much emphasis on your face.

I only use available light, something that is already in there. In this case, off frame on the right is a row of hollywood lights above a mirror.

Haha good job you look just as good when you're happy. Definitely first world problems though :-p

first world problems ? mac wifi not syncing to your isp to net surf when it's dire times ?

peace of art ... wanderful

keep your spirits up :-)

nice potrait brade

You can see the sassyness. I really enjoyed your self portraits. Do you have a tri-pod that you set your camera on? I want to try something like this.

Wow, for a second there I thought you were Nicole Kidman! You look beautiful and it shows that you're happy!

Let's not kid (pun very much intended) ourselves, I look nothing like her :D But thank you anyways!

Beautiful self portraits. One of my favorite forms of photography.

This is my suffering self portrait and I dont have to even have to try to let it shine through. This was yesterday, less than 24 hours after the sprain, and to day it is too ugly to show. But even with heath insurance, a doctors visit and an xray will cost $150 or more, so I will monitor for signs of broken bones. If only I had Finn doctor..... PS sorry to all those who (everybody) who did to read these comments to see the ugly side of suffering.

Oh honey its broken, that looks exactly same as my foot 2,5months ago 😁

My toe was pointed and rolled forward after an attempted volleyball block, jumping as high as I can, so it sprained both sides at once. I now have unanimous consent from co-workers and family that I should see a doctor, but have agreed that if the swelling does not go down tomorrow, or its painful after a week, then I need to see a sports orthopedic doctor. I have heard too many bad stories of people ignoring it and doing irreparable damage. Still, I think waiting a few days to see if its a normal sprain wont hurt as long as I am gentle with it. I may post my situation and progress on a post, because I have learned a few thing about what I have done wrong and right.

Ouch, I think you should really see a doctor! What happened to you?

I know they keep telling everywhere that Finland has a free healthcare, but that is a lie. I'm pretty sure the doctors visit would cost pretty much the same here.

Wow! This is truly a work of art - from the dim, melancholic lighting to the crooked, teasing smile, accentuated by the prominent yet delicate collarbones - I must say that I have never seen anything like this before. Your photography style is incredibly unique, I just wanted you to know that. What a masterpiece!

Dark and moody portraits are my favorite. Very expressive writing. I like it!

Mine too :D

This is my dark and moody. I call it The spiritual being.

I'm really impressed.Good work..

Ah the joys of having mental health effect creativity! I hope you manage to find your spark amongst all this happiness ;)

Great post

Wao so beautiful

impressive post, since very small art has been present in my life in many ways, paintings, drawings, digital art, but I say that photography is one of the most complex arts, since it must be very accurate to be able to transmit messages to travez of just a pose or an expression, and then your work is admirable! It is a very peculiar art which I call my attention, you have my vote and I will be following your post mate!!!

These changes of feeling could also create some new forms of art for you :)

There are 2 pages
Pages