Something weird is going on with these HORSES!! Their faces are covered up. So strange??

in #photography7 years ago

I have never ever seen this before!  Have you? Why would anyone do this to a horse?

A beautiful pair of horses. I bet the foal was only 6 months old, but I can't tell. My first reaction is so that they didn't spook each other.  For instance, I know cows and their babies are separated so they don't get trampled on.  I thought this might be the same thing with horses.

After I got home, I had to do some google searches to find out the reason. Horses with their mosquito and fly masks on. They do this to avoid eye infections.. apparently they can still see.  Have you ever seen this before?  This is the first time I've ever seen them do this.... The mosquitos and flies have been horrendous the last few days, the horses didn't seem to mind as they kept on eating the grass.

An old abandoned barn. You can see the sun peeking through the holes in the roof.  It makes you wonder how long this barn has been there.  Is it 100 years old? 200?  How old do barns get when they start looking like this...

A fence and a sign yet nothing but trees and brambles.  The reason I took a picture of this sign, is I noticed how the flower had grown in front of it...  There was something beautiful to me about seeing the lovely flower taking more precedence over the sign. :)

A busy bee at work.  I love bees especially since there seems to be fewer and fewer of them these days. Now this was a little extreme for me as I am highly allergic to bees, wasps and hornets. He stayed on the flower and allowed me to get this shot. I didn't hang around for long after this. lol

The amount of wild raspberries are quite plentiful but it is too early in the season.  This is what they look like before the birds and bugs get to them. They probably taste too tart right now.  I will be going back to pick some and make a wack a doodle of homemade Jams. Yummmm

Question: Do many of you like to go raspberry picking in the wild each year? Where I live, more and more people are doing it.  Perhaps its because the cost of produce seems to get more expensive. For me, it juts feels nice to be out in the open fresh air and harvest just the bit I need, leaving a lot left over for everyone else.

There is so many things in this world that are good for us, like Dandelions, Stinging Nettle, Golden Rod etc. They all grow wild and have many medicinal attributes. All we have to do is go out into the world and look!

Hope you enjoy my photos, I'm still new at this, and if you like this I would love to hear from you in the comments.  All of the comments I receive inspire me to keep trying.  :)

Have an truly awesome day!

Sort:  

Photos are really good, you are a good photographer 😎

Thank you so much for the compliment. I have so much to learn but you know the old saying, practice makes perfect.

It seems animals have great eyes looking in the dark especially cats, owls and even horses?! I always go blind when I turn off my lights haha.

I would love to have mirrored eyes. Would be fun sneaking up on people and scaring them. But as for horses, apparently the flies and mosquitos can cause infections in their eyes. Never knew this until today.

Great work. !! Keep it up

Thank you. You never realize how much effort goes into photography. Lol

Nice work! I've never seen horses with masks like that but the explanation about it protecting their eyes from flies and mosquitoes does make sense.
I've not gone picking wild raspberries but I have done the same with Saskatoon berries, it's a lot of fun!

Thank you. I have heard about the Saskatoon Berries but don't think I have ever seen them. We have Salmon Berries here too. But I love picking wild berries, they make the best jams.