An Heartwarming Story of Hope!

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Hope

Hope is a rescue puppy abandoned by her owners when she was about 5-6 weeks of age.

She was rescued by local NGO in Gurgaon, India—my previous city of residence. I fostered her until she was healthy and found her a permanent home.

Click images for their hi-res version


Hope


She lived with me for a month as she grew stronger and healthier. She was a sick puppy who was petrified of her daily visits to the vet for her shots and threw up in my car everyday.


Hope


When she came up for adoption she reminded me of the pup I rescued on my tour of the Himalaya. She looked identical to the 'Hope' I found injured on my trip few months before this.


Hope


The rescue story itself was an adventure!

I rented a small taxi and took an overnight roundtrip of over 312 miles / 500 kms of single lane narrow mountain roads to the nearest NGO which had some access to facilities to operate on animals. It took a big chunk out of my budget for my trip and delayed everything but I wanted to adopt her if she made the journey and the operation.


Hope


She was a puppy in excruciating pain but she didn't complain or cry in pain on the bumpy journey. She remained resilient throughout. The journey taught me the importance of being calm and face the worst case scenario head-on.


Hope


Due to severity of her conditon; broken femur and other complications including ruptured intenstines and low hemoglobin she died a day after the operation. Needless to say I was heart broken. But I was also glad about the fact that it brought together many people wishing for her well being. Personally, I thought she'd make a great companion to her motorcyclist rescuer someday.


Hope


When the 'new' Hope (in these pictures) came on the FB group I jumped at the opportunity to have her. Although my life at the time didn't allow me to keep her forever I felt I could make a difference and I did the best I could. I found her a great family and visited her as often as I could until I moved out of the city.


Hope


## Overtime, Hope changed from being a naughty Satan's daughter to a golden child loved by all especially her family of three!

Pictures taken with Canon 550D paired with a 50mm f1.8 lens. Images have been slightly edited but I can produce original shots upon request for verification.


Hope

Left: Original Hope. Right: new Hope. See the resemblance?

Hope

From trying to organize help on FB for the rescue and having to do it myself because there was no help around. I felt it was time to repay the debt and help the pup just as I received help in similar situations in the past!

Hope

Biker Dog Hope!

Sometimes pictures have a story that needs to be told. I've decided to share this because it's close to my heart and I wanted you to know the story of Hope!

Hope

The 'new' Hope has grown up but continues enjoying staring into nothing just as she did when she was a little pup. I wish I knew what she was thinking.


If you like my post please re-hive it. You may also show support by voting my Hive witness node.

Sort:  

Beautiful pics of Gods most gorgeous creation!

Thanks @norbu for going through the post. :)

Beautiful pup and fantastic work. I look forward to following you

Thanks much! :) I look forward to your posts too!

Wow, such a great story. Thank you!

Thank you for taking the time to view this. :)

Aww this just warmed my heart so much! <3 Lovely photos too!

I'm glad it made you smile. It's something I aspire to do more often on Steemit. :)

So cute. I think it's horrible that anyone would mistreat these poor things. :)

Thanks. The world is filled with more people who do good for others than those who harm. So for every bad deed done, there are twice as much good being done. In this case I hope karma catches up to people!

I love your viewpoint @firepower , so refreshingly positive! :)

That's something I've learnt from my life and I'm thankful for it everyday! :)

I'm crying out of joy what beautiful person you are ! !!

haha! I shed manly tears when I had to let go of Hope. The thought of it stings me everyday. But she's with a great family and has a loving elder human sister all of 6 years of age who treats Hope as her own younger sister! That's more than I could have asked for or perhaps done myself! :)

You did your part to get out of your way to help ! That's awesome ! Any pet I rescued in my years in Bali ( they will find you ) are / were my best friends

That's so sweet... Although Bali can do with some more rescue organizations!

Such a great story and a gorgeous pup ^_^ I have two whippets my self, dogs are the best!

Amazing story! Hope is such a cutie!

wow what a story! I couldn't help myself from being deeply touched. I am speechless because my first language is Portuguese and to express emotion it would be required all my heart, not my mind. I feel the same many times .. I would very much liked to know what our dog, Nikki is thinking..

What an amazing story!