Chasing Neowise (Original Photography)

in #photography4 years ago

After hearing about the Neowise, a comet which is passing through our patch of the solar system, I decided to try and get some photos of it. My first attempt was not a success. It wasn't exactly a failure, either.

It was too late to capture the comet, but dawn's early light is beautiful to work with.

202095 mm0520220020191342.jpg
New Day, Old Barn

The drastic temperature changes also left the river valey blanketed in a dense fog. These types of lnadscapes are fun to shoot and it was a great way to start off the work week.

202059 mm0520220020191347.jpg
Lazy Cloud

After a long week of ten-hour days and overtime, I finally had another chance. The comet is, now, visible in the evening sky. Thursday night, in the middle of a rural lake with a closed-off road running through the middle of it, Neowise was easy to spot!

202028 mm0520220020191570.jpg
God's Mouse Pointer

While the Canon EOS RP isn't exactly an astro-photography camera, it did a far better job than my old Canon 7D would have. These were taken on a tripod with longer exposures.

With wider-angle lenses like the image above, you can get away with about 15 seconds of exposure. I also took some at 200mm and had to limit exposure to under eight seconds, or it started to look like a celestial rice storm.

202070 mm0520220020193.jpg
Very Sparkly Evening

The last image of this post is a compilation of fourteen images taken at 200mm. Using multiple exposures and combining them allows you to eliminate a lot of the sensor noise. Photoshop couldn't auto-align the images, so I spent roughly three hours getting the stars lined up. I actually had to process the top 2/3 and bottom 1/3 in two batches, because what works for stars would have gotten rid of the fireflies. The end result is fairly nice, though I wouldn't say it's my favorite photo ever.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

This is excellent! Brilliant photography, my friend. I'm beyond impressed.

Thanks! It was really beautiful to see the comet, despite the mosquitos. When I turned around to leave, the Milky Way was arcing across the entire sky. There were even some confused pelicans making the weirdest sounds I've heard birds make for ambiance... Lol

Clouds, clouds, clouds every night is cloudy, but the app "Clear outside" predicts an almost cloudless night for tomorrow.
Now I hope I can see Neowise from my office building, because I will be at work.
If I can see it I hope that I can take such nice shots like you did - great photos, exactly what I am hoping for 👍😀


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote
!tip

Did you get to see it? It's been cloudy here most of this week. We had 8.5 inches of rain on Saturday.

Last night was the first night without clouds, but it was too hazy and I couldn't see the comet, not even with the 600mm lens. I'll try it again tonight on another spot if the sky is cloudless again ... or just wait for 5000 or 6000 years 😉 lol


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @fotosdenada, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Manually curated by blacklux 💡Ice cream slayer 🍦 from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Very well done! I have been wanting to catch a glimpse of Neowise myself, but the last few days we have had cloud cover to the NorthWest just after sunset, so it was not visible. Couple more nights to try though I guess. If not, I'll just have to get cryogenically frozen for 6000 years to try again.

It was worth it. I wasn't sure I'd get to see it for clouds but, fortunately it cleared off at dusk.

Got to love those cosmic time scales, right? Good luck with the weather. It sounds like it'll be closest to Earth as it's going to get on the evening of the 22nd. Here's hoping for clear skies and a lack of mosquitos!

🎁 Hi @fotosdenada! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @johannpiber!

@johannpiber wrote lately about: Natural Noses - Alphabethunt Feel free to follow @johannpiber if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @fotosdenada, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

That's pretty awesome you captured a comet! Sounds like you really had to work to catch it. Really great pictures. I see the occasional shooting star here but with the tall mountains around me they often block out the cool stuff.

You got it! Beautiful shots