It's been awhile, but...

in #photography3 years ago

Hello again,

It has been months since I've been able to access my blog. PeakD was not working at first and then life got very busy. Everything seems to be working now, though!

So, what's happened in the last three-and-a-half months? Not much. Covid cases are mounting, I'm still stuck in my apartment alone (still single at 40), and still working too many hours from my "home office."

It's not all doom and gloom. This autumn, my family took a trip to the Boundary Waters Canoe Area in northern MN. This is the first time I've had the time and finances to be able to come along, and they have gone every year for the last fifteen. It was strange to be up there during the pandemic, but I spent most of my time on the water anyway.

2020105 mm0520220020192686.jpg
Hand-Made Kayak

Beginning about the same time as the pandemic, my dad decided to build a cedar strip kayak for me. He has made four canoes in the past and wanted to try something different. I'm fairly certain it was the last kayak he will make. It was significantly more difficult than the canoes were.


202070 mm05202200201926292.jpg
Got Clamps?

Aside from the trip up north, I have been trying to get out as much as possible with my camera to find interesting photos. This autumn's harvest provided a few beauties. Someone mentioned a sunflower field and I headed down there. The flower field was a publicity stunt and full of people with kids running everywhere... so I left. Taking the gravel roads home, I came across this line of bales atop a low hill.

2020165 mm0520220020193039.jpg
Not Tumbleweeds

And, of course, the bison are still there. We are currently snow-free, but did have a substantial snowstorm a couple of weeks ago. It was on a Saturday and the park was empty. It would seem that other people are unwilling to risk becoming stuck in the bison enclosure to see frosted bison.

2020142 mm0520220020193502.jpg
Frosty Has Been Eaten

And that's about all there is to say. I'm ready for the pandemic to end and a life change is overdue. It would be nice to be back in Spain, but finding a way to accomplish that has proven next to impossible. After a pandemic, though, who knows? We'll just have to settle for getting through the pandemic first.

And before finishing this post, here's one last photo and a bit of humor. I tend to avoid politics, especially online, but with all this talk of dead people voting lately...

2020100 mm0520220020193827.jpg
This voter leans a bit to the left!

More to come soon, I hope. Until then, be well and stay safe!

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

I haven't been to the Boundary Waters in years and years! I think my last trip up there was in the 80s! HolyMoly can it possibly be so long ago?

How lucky you are to have a handcrafted kayak. What a treasure! How does it paddle?

Spending the pandemic alone is a surreal experience, isn't it?

I've missed you! It's great to see your wonderful photos again!

It's nice to be back. I've missed you and a few others on here, too!

The kayak is amazing, really. I couldn't believe how weasily it glides through the water. The canoes couldn't keep up!

I like the I voted sticker! lol yeah there is probably a few graves with that sticker. I really like the snowy bison but you know me and my furry critters.

Sounds like you had a nice time joining your family for vacation. Spending time on the lake or in nature is never a bad idea. I traveled during the pandemic and spent most of my time on trails, I don't feel the least bit weird about it, neither should you , we need a break from the covid madness. It's pretty cool that your dad is building you a kayak, my bff's dad used to build canoes, there is a lot of work into crafting one of them. I'm glad to see you back, I hope you stay a little while!

Thanks! I have a few photos of the kayak build that I'll try and share in anotehr post. I was only able to get home on weekends occasionally to take photos and help, but did take part in the fiberglassing and the insanity that was joining the top and bottom pieces together.

The bison are very photogenic, but they always look the best in the snow.

I'll be looking for them in the future then. Still got to take part, that's cool. I find bison look cool in any setting.

Wow the picture of the kayak is great and to learn that your dad made it for you- awesome! The bison picture is wonderful too. Nice update!

Thanks! I wish I'd gotten more photos in the Boundary Waters, but couldn't find a good way to keep the camera from getting wet.

Welcome back!
All images are great... but the last one made me smile :) Great catch (not that he would run somewhere)!

Thanks! I seriously wonder how many gravestones have "I voted" stickers right now. We're living through some very strange times.