Raising a SON as a Single Mom.........Challenges and Joys

As many of you are aware, I have been a widow for almost 7 years, and in that time I have raised 3 kids from 6, 11, and 13. Today my post will be about the joys and challenges of raising a 13 year old boy. The 6 and 11 year old are my girls. So raising a boy in a home full of girls was a challenge all in itself. !

18056704_10155296486817244_7816373354121318994_n.jpg

As a 13 year old boy, he was so full of life. He filled big shoes, of his father. He embraced the role as the man of the house. The first year I was working evenings, so he took the responsibility of cooking and doing homework with the girls, and monitoring bedtime routines.

1796617_10153343158227244_2666834274960262714_n.jpg

After the first year, I decided that it just wasn't fair to allow my son to alter the natural path of his life to substitute for me while working and his father, so I resigned my position and stayed home with the 3 of them. So my son set out and made the most amazing transformation into a man. He became an Elite Althlete, and I supported him all the way, with the money I could.

He first started with a deep desire to compete.

IMG_3803.JPG

Competitive Swimming

Adam swim 3.jpg

Then it was Triathlon
Adam swim.jpg

Then in the off season, why not try competitive skiing!

Adam Ski.jpg

And when you have a son as an athlete, boy can they eat.

Adam burgers.jpg

And he is know to be a little mouthy at times, especially his first time at camp.

Adam camp.jpg

Then his first Girlfriend, and Prom

Adam Jen.jpg

Then onto University, and ran for the Cross Country team.

Adam Queens.jpg

Today my son is going into his 3rd year of University as a Computer Science, Physic's major. He has chosen to plant tree's this summer and backpack across Canada, when he is done. This is mom signing off of duty to my 20 year old son, who will be just fine, I did a great job, with him.

Sort:  

Thank you for gifting this post to the world @gardengirlcanada! In return, we offer you a gift of 50.0 Ohm, a cryptocurrency similar to Bitcoin.

If you would like to accept our gift, please reply to this Comment with your Ohm Wallet Address. If you would like to setup an address or learn more about Ohm, check out the Ohm Wallet FAQ.

We have also Upvoted and Resteemed your post so that your post can reach more people! Follow @maxwellbeing to see all posts which have been offered Ohm for uplifting humanity.

Great job momma. ❤️❤️❤️

The world needs more "mommas" like you. Thanks for sharing. I enjoyed reading about your son and his achievements. Great pics too :)

Yes I agree. It certainly take sacrifice and determination to raise kids right. Thanks

Looks like you did an excellent job raising that boy into a man!

Thank you, it wasn't easy but it was so rewarding

Congratulations on raising a nice well-rounded man! I bet you're proud!!

Thank you. Yes he is and I am so proud of the man he has become

I'm so glad.

What a great way to keep a boy occupied during his teens! It is wonderful to see how your sacrifice and encouragement helped him succeed and made him into the young man you can now be proud of.

Great post. It clearly demonstrates you are an incredibly brave person and have raised a wonderful son. You must be so proud.

Thank you, and yes incredibly proud

Ah! Congrats on raising on wonderful young man!