Granola Crusted Cashew Cream Tart - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

Granola Crusted Cashew Cream Tart (V+GF)-5.jpg

It’s been a little while since I’ve shared a tart like this. I was going for a cheesecake type of thing and, while this doesn’t taste exactly like cheesecake I think it’s definitely delicious! I wanted to keep it simple and not bother turning on the oven since it’s been pretty warm.

Granola Crusted Cashew Cream Tart (V+GF)-1-2.jpg

Anyway, I recently made this huge batch of chocolate granola. Of course, true to my habit I made it without any sort of recipe. I also made way more than I had planned. It does save well, but it was more than I would be able eat any time soon. That’s why I thought it would be fun to make a granola crust with some of it.

Granola Crusted Cashew Cream Tart (V+GF)-7.jpg

I’ve used granola for making crusts like this in the past with great results. In a sense, it’s not very different than a cookie crust since granola is basically crunchy cookie crumbles. If you want to use some granola that you’ve already got on hand, feel free to do that. I love to do this when the pantry is full of too many almost-empty boxes of granola.

Granola Crusted Cashew Cream Tart (V+GF)-4.jpg

As for the toppings, I used some sliced fresh figs and fresh flowers. The flowers were obviously for photo value and not to be eaten. My little nephew asked me why I put flowers on it as if he couldn’t fathom why anyone would do something that crazy. I told him I just thought they were pretty and the face he gave me was priceless. He was so confused.

So yeah, this is a great treat to make for the Summer. You do need to plan ahead for soaking the dates and nuts but it’s so easy otherwise and really fast.

Granola Crusted Cashew Cream Tart (V+GF)-6.jpg

Granola Crusted Cashew Cream Tart


Prep Time: 25 minutes
Total Time: 25 minutes
Yield: 6-8 servings

A cheesecake-like treat that's easy to make and doesn't require any cooking.

Ingredients

Filling:
1 cup raw cashews, soaked overnight
1 cup pitted dates
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
2 teaspoons lemon juice
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1/2 cup unsweetened coconut chips
Crust:
2 1/2 cups granola (any kind works but use gluten free if necessary)
1-2 tablespoons non-dairy milk
2 teaspoons coconut oil
1 tablespoon maple syrup

Instructions

Place the cashews in a bowl and fill with enough water to cover and allow them to soak overnight (or at least 8 hours). Place the dates and coconut in a separate bowl and cover with water to soak overnight as well.
For the crust, place all the ingredients in a food processor or blender and pulse together until you have a crumbly and slightly wet mixture. Press the mixture into a 9-inch pie pan or spring-form pan to make a crust.
After soaking, drain and rinse the cashews and place in a blender or food processor and pulse until smooth. Drain the dates and coconut, reserving the water. Take 2 tablespoons of the soaking water and stir in the chia seeds then set aside to soak for about 5 minutes. Add 1/4 cup of the soaking water to the blender as well and pulse together. Add the lemon, salt, vanilla extract, and soaked chia seeds and blend until completely smooth. Pour the mixture into the crust and smooth with a spatula. Cover the pan and place in the fridge or freezer to chill completely.
Once chilled, remove from fridge and top as desired before serving.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Crunchy Breakfast Granola
  2. Blueberry Lavender Protein Waffles
  3. Sunday Fruit-spirations
  4. Cuban Black Bean & Plantain Plates + Mango Salsa
  5. Sunbutter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Vlog #4 Grocery Shopping with Gringalicious at Trader Joe's
  2. Hiking to Snow Creek Falls + I Hit 17k Followers!
  3. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby
  4. Vlog #2 Rock Climbing With @hotrod, @fullofhope, and @whiteknight20 + What I ate Today

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Granola Crusted Cashew Cream Tart (V+GF)-2.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

greetings, sweetie gringalicous

Very nice this recipe. It's delicious

Here in the city where I live, a festival is occurring called Minas-Tche. It is an exhibition related to cooking, dances, music, clothes, etc... This festival is coming from the south of Brazil, a state far from mine. About the food, they're delicious. Yesterday I went there and bought a cheese stuffed with sausage, a krakovia (which looks like a sirloin steak, but it is not. It's delicious. I bought the Krakovia, and, lawn chocolates. Lawn is a city famous for its chocolates. DELICIOUS!!!!!! If you ever want to visit Brazil, tell me that I can be your virtual guide.

Thank you for posting and Good morning!!!!!!

Only photos brought water in my mouth. I'm very fond of eatables . Eating sweets is like a pleasure to me.

Congrates

Really beautiful food photo-shot.. i like it your post 😱😍

I read u r instructions everything I just do look on it it's really awesome and next your photography is really outstanding I also love photography every time I do practice to make something new in photography I also like new discovery of recipes foods and really in have great men awesome blog posts

Love this! Looks so delicious :) also loveeee the flowers and figs for decoration, so pretty! 😍

This looks so good. I will try to get my wife to make this for me one weekend as I love granola and cashews. We will have to search for some fresh looking figs, but this looks incredible tasty!

wow! looks good! and I love the way you make photos

This looks so yummy! Decorated nicely with the figs and flowers. Yum yum yum!

AJ picked your post @gringalicious for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.


You can also join The-Kitchen Discord Server for more food experience.

Hello, i just upvoted your post. Also, $10 - $160 Reward is waiting for you in GBYTE crypto, please
follow instructions in this post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@cryptomonitor/airdrop-how-to-claim-tutorial-byteball-bytes-airdrop-to-steemians-hot .
Join our Discord & enjoy happy STEEM community: https://discord.gg/qQZ7Eng

I might have to make this. It looks pretty good!

@anthonydeluna I hope you enjoy if you try it.😀