Double exposure on Portra 400

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

My most recent foray with film was with my now ex-girlfriend.
We decided to go to the Como Conservatory and Zoo in Minneapolis Minnesota.
But before we went we each took portraits of each other against a white wall posing and having fun.
Then I carefully wound up the roll, which is the most stressful part.
You have to listen and recognize when to stop before you accidentally wind all the film up.
The next phase was to head to Como Park and conservatory and to enjoy ourselves.
Taking photos of plants and wildlife along the way. There by creating double exposures.

The Como Park zoo and Conservatory is a massive multi- room indoor greenhouse.
Home to Live birds, fish, frogs and reptiles that actively fly, swim hop and crawl all around you.
There is even a sloth named Chloe that is allowed to walk around too although she mostly sleeps.

Out side the conservatory there are Buffalo, Polar bears , fish, penguins dolphins, seals, Wolves, giraffes, zebras Monkeys, orangutans and many more mammals and sea life. The list goes on and on. Its a beautiful place!

But on to the photos!
I used a Nikon Fm2 black with a 85mm F2 and a 50mm F1.4 Portra 400 pushed to 800 iso.

Then i had to take a photo of this Orangutan.

Thanks for looking !

The rest of the album can be found here http://imgur.com/a/hbUID

Sort:  

Beautiful photos! I like the last one ).

Thanks @mikegun Just followed you ! That orangutan was just laying down with a blanket next to the window of the exhibit , it was surreal!

@kommienezuspadt What do you think? Do you shoot film?

Amazing! I don't think anyone know how to use a film camera anymore.

I started on Film. I love the grain and just the overall user experience with film cameras is great! The knobs and the levers. Clicks and snaps. I feel more connected to my photograph.
But its terribly expensive.

Same here.. my favorite film back then was Fuji velvia 100

Just followed you! Would appreciate if you did the same!

Nice images! I remember doing double expo with a Nikon FM-10 in the film days. Takes a bit of forethought!

These are so beautiful, @grizman!