Milkweed Bugs

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

20170824_094836-01.jpeg

These are milkweed bugs. I think they're kind of pretty. Unfortunately, they destroy milkweed seedpods. Milkweed is the main food source for Monarch butterflies.

20170824_094846-01.jpeg

Milkweed bugs are found throughout North America, Souther Canada, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean.

20170821_131117-01.jpeg

These insects prefer disturbed areas, roadsidesn and open pastures. This is also where milkweed is found!

Thanks for looking! Stay tuned!

All photos taken by me using a Samsung Galaxy S6 Smartphone and edited in Snapseed.

Sort:  

Neat looking little bugs, colorful. Too bad they're so destructive.
Hey, I found this post on the trending page, pretty cool!

Blocktrades gave it a vote and zoom! Away we went!

It's pretty exciting when that happens, isn't it? :-)

What unusual little critters! Don't think we have them in the UK!

Lucky you! They won't kill the plant itself, but the seeds won't survive.

Colourful wee things!

They are pretty, but they'll have to go. My milkweed pods need to survive.

Ew do you need some diatimatious earth? I probably didn't spell that right.

I have some. I keep forgetting about it!

Make it rain on them bugs!!!

Kind of working out for you though, you are getting great photos!

They are neat looking but ECK!!! Haha!

Nice Snap,
Nice photography
thanks for sharing

Huh. I have never seen bugs like those on milkweed. I will have to check them out in the pasture because I may have just missed seeing them (we have some large grasshoppers right now).

Thanks for the pictures!

yeah..really neat looking

I saw some of these yesterday! I was going to try to look them up, but I ran across this post. Thanks!