Trip Down Memory Lane



clb0juica06cs1hmjdm79breo_IMG_20211231_200537636.webp
clb0judan06hx1ymj8dbf7qdl_2022-10-06_2.webp
clb0jume506e519mj6fn6dman_2022-10-06_3.webp
clb0jv5il06hu2pmjaqf71375_2022-10-06_4.webp
clb0jv22w06e30xmj7vhqc2pu_2022-10-06_1.webp
clb0jvwna06730pmjhlu49veq_IMG_20211222_103817021_HDR.webp

Deleting my Facebook Account

Recently I decided to completely cancel my Facebook account. Get rid of it. Delete. I haven't paid any attention to Facebook for a long time. Why would I? It brings nothing but misery. And I have to say that since I stopped doing that crap I've started to feel a lot better. My mood has remained much more stable and I no longer suffer from the irritations I often felt when scrolling through the many disrespectful posts on Facebook.

Of course, like many people, I have built up a whole Facebook history in all the years that I have had an account. So yes, of course I did use the option to have all my photos copied to my Google photo account. From there I could see for myself which photos I want to keep and which are really nonsensical because I still have the original on one of my many external hard drives.

And so the trip down memory lane begins

Oh how much the world has changed in just ONE year!

The first picture you see is not an awesome photo at all. 2 Champagne glasses with Asti in the background and some candlelight. A mood plate. Still, it reminds me of how carefree we all were last year! There was no question of a war yet, there was no question of an energy crisis and there was no question of inflation that plunged many millions of people worldwide back into poverty in one fell swoop. We all looked forward to the end of the Covid period, but had no idea that freedom would not return so naturally with the end of the Covid lockdowns. For many people in the world, freedom is no longer so obvious.

The First Moment Skipper showed his Confidence in me

The second photo that caught my eye is one that gave me a moment of endearment. It's a photo I took after Skipper hadn't been with us that long. We still had to get to know each other, he still had to give his confidence. And this picture shows a moment where I could feel very clearly that he was starting to give his confidence. And a photo that will forever hold a special place in my heart. Such a large German Shepherd, who was still a small puppy at the time. Naughty, and finally daring to play in a way he would like. But at the same time also a bit insecure, and not wanting me to walk away from him.

I can still tear up when I see photos of Rowan

From Skipper we go to Rowan. A picture that, even though I see it every day, would still almost bring tears to my eyes. How sad I was when I had to put this wonderful dog to sleep. How difficult I have been to pick up my daily things again. And I still struggle to grab my camera and start shooting again. Photography and Rowan were inseparable for me… When I grabbed my camera, Rowan was ready to go. Even when he wasn't supposed to, he was there. He tilted his head inquiringly. He sat as nicely as he could and was as happy as a little puppy. Shooting together was the best thing we could do together for me and Rowan. He possibly enjoyed that even more than I did… Now without Rowan it has become difficult. The inspiration tickles every now and then, but the courage to continue often sinks into my shoes when I think that I should go out alone again. I never made the two ladies happy with that and Skipper is still too rambunctious to go along. I miss Rowan, with Rowan I was never alone. I also miss photographing, but the step I have to take is still too big without Rowan. Will it come again? I hope so...that's all I can say to it.

Lex Learned us to be thankful for life

And if you talk about missing, of course Lex should not be missing. This sweetheart is also still missed in the house. He was such a great dog. There really wasn't any harm in Lex. And I have never known a more grateful dog. Lex was a dog who was grateful for every little thing you did for him. A pat on the head, a clean blanket in his basket, a bowl of food, a walk. It didn't matter, Lex was obviously grateful for everything. He took nothing for granted. He thought everything was special. Like he couldn't believe he just deserved that. Now that may have had to do with the fact that Lex had lived in an asylum for about 6 years. That he was picked up by people several times, and brought back again because they couldn't accept Lex's health problems. I can only say that I think it's terrible what Lex had to go through during his life, but that I'm also very happy that he came into our lives. What he has given us is a lesson in being thankful for life and a lesson in appreciating what you have. Enjoying even though not everything will always go well.

What I also encountered among those photos is a photo that is not a photo technical tour de force at all. In fact, it might even be a bad photo. Made simple with my phone. . But it immediately brings back memories. A photo of 2 Pyracantha's that we went to buy together in 2020.

Intruders in our backyard

We bought the Pyracantha's for a reason. At that time we had neighbors who were not very friendly towards us. And after we were just able to buy another car in 2020 after living without a car for years, they became so jealous that they cut the mesh at the back of our garden. That was not all, my partner had grown beautiful Bonsai trees. It was his hobby, his pride in the garden. And they knew that. They ripped a good number of the Bonsai trees out of their trays and threw them away, the trays were smashed on the stones in our garden.

Not such a pleasant homecoming for us from our first ride by car. In response to that, we took another ride by car the next day and bought the Pyracantha's. These shrubs have really good spikes, they offer good protection against intruders. In addition, they look beautiful in the winter and are attractive to birds.

The Pyracantha's have now grown large enough that no one can reach the back of the mesh. The Pyracantha's have just taken longer to grow than the neighbors have lived here. They were both picked up by the police in 2021, after which many other cases have come to light. I don't even want to think about it too much, but in retrospect I can only say. “Fortunately, I was never alone with those neighbors”.

Back to enjoying nature and rest again.

And that brings me to the last photo that I show in my memories today. A picture from last winter. Taken at the back of our garden. This is the view we have from the garden. A view that radiates tranquility, and which I can always enjoy immensely. After those neighbors were gone, enjoying this view came back, and with their departure we really got our peace back.

That's my first trip down memory lane. It's funny how seeing pictures brings back so many memories. And I will certainly come across more memories. So more memories soon…


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @hetty-rowan ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I enjoyed your trip down memory lane.. :)
Your dogs look(ed) lovely!
What was Lex's health issue? His chest looks a bit bare,
was that something to do with it?
I'm glad he a few good years in your caring hands!

We also have a rescue dog, Holly; she was picked up as stray.
I love her to bits! :)
Thanks for sharing!

Thank you! Lex had a very serious allergy to gluten. However, this was never acknowledged in the years he lived at the shelter. The allergy caused a severe bacterial growth on his skin that caused his fur to shed on his chest, on the insides of his back legs, and on his abdomen. The skin there had turned into a so-called elephant skin. He was also seriously underweight at the time. We were able to fix half of his problems, but we couldn't repair the damage that had already been done. Yet, Lex has almost turned 16 years old. Of which he has lived with us for the last 9 years. And finally he passed away in 2018 from a stomach upset.

Yes, you can see that skin in your photo.
How lovely that he still had so many years with you!
That's wonderful to hear!:)

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.