You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photography, and why I need to rediscover a lost passion

in #photography4 years ago

Hey, thanks for the reply and the compliments on my work!

I have the same feeling with street photography. As a photographer, even if I'm shooting manual, once I've got the first light reading for the session, I'll rarely adjust ISO or shutter speed, or aperture, unless I'm looking to change up the mood, so I personally don't see much value in people going f/whatever shutter whatever, iso whatever.

Sure, if you've used F22 and 40 minute exposures at ISO 50 in the middle of the night to capture a brilliant portrait of someone as still as a cadaver, then its useful info - otherwise... it just isn't!

Sorry for the rambling! :D Glad to have a fellow creative (and a new person) that I can follow.

Enjoy your stay on this platform!

Sort:  

Oh please, ramble away! I have nobody in RL to talk about these things with (at least without their eyes glazing over) so it's always nice to compare notes!

Street photography made me a bit lazy in a way. I would always just set the camera by aperture and let it do its thing as I rarely needed to adjust settings anyway. I need to play around with manual settings more, I'm not as technically proficient with a camera as I'd like to be. Street is my first real passion but I do like to play with other styles too. Although equipment is a bit of a barrier also (I have no lighting stuff for example).

I'm really enjoying it on Hive so far, seems to be some really nice people here!

I know that feeling of eyes glazed over when you start to talk shop and deeper photographic theory with people. The moment you find someone you can talk about the technical rubbish about, the faster you both develop!

I am glad you're enjoying your time here so far!