You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing Photochain, A Dapp for freelance photographers that aims to revolutionize the Stock photography industry

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hahaha that was me, as several months ago I started a stock photography project, but realized there were bigger projects already in existence, and bailed on it.
You would have run into several problems, and part of the reason I discontinued it. Steem block chain has no framework for Tier or automatic payouts, as well as a commission concept. That's why all these other startups aren't using steem as their blockchain of choice, it just isn't versatile enough to run a market place.

Also, the harsh reality of selling stock specifically in steem; steem users don't give a damn about copyright infringement and it's why so many like the blockchain. They can steal and post work with no repercussions. As of now, you would be lucky to make any profit or even sustain it.
I pump almost a grand into Dstock, and it opened my eyes, and realized on Steem, it just isn't feasible, you would need a better backing with developers on a more utilized versatile blockchain.
That, and if you notice, these startups are using this as a slight ruse to pump their own 'coin' which they call 'tokens.' It's why they claim to take such a little fee.
Also, there is a lot of protections and markets that the bigger fiat companies are working with, which is why it seems they are taking so much reward.

Sites like these start off the same as any fiat "hey we are on the photographers side!" photo sites. 500px for instance.

I'll sell you the account Dstock and the Domain Dstock.io for 1k USD lol.

At this point I am holding on to the domain for profit, until I get an offer.

If you have ideas, I would recommend investing in .io domains, you might strike gold.

*Or hell if you had some ideas, maybe we can get something going. I, as a one man team, found it wasn't possible, as my limitations were mostly backend development. Site Design marketing, etc... I am capable of, but I am not a coder lol.

Sort:  

Haha, that's funny, great to find out who is behind @dstock! I am studying computer science and have developed some python scripts interacting with the Steem blockchain, but a project like dstock would be a different level.
I think it wouldn't make sense to develop it now when SMTs will change everything in a few months, but when they launch, we could talk about realising dstock together if you like.
My idea would be to create something like a decentralised version of 500px as a SMT including a market place. The problem with transactions could be solved by creating a subscription system such as the one that Shuttterstock and many other microstock agencies have and distribute the payments to the creators at the end of the month minus the fees.

Cool I give ya a follow