Sort:  
There are 4 pages
Pages

Hi @runicar!

Your post was just upvoted by @utopian-io. We invite you to join our developer community on the Steem blockchain to crowdsource your project development and promotion with Utopian.

Contributing on Utopian

Learn how to contribute on our website or by watching this tutorial on Youtube.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV

Very impressive idea to crowdsource and allow many to provide funding while original developers of the idea maintain control.

excelente reportaje, mis tíos también estudian el mundo de la fotografía.. Sera de ayuda para ellos leer este articulo! felicidades

I will! Congrats good job

Interesante, esa es una muy buena propuesta

Awesome guys! We will be in touch!

Loading...

The headline "Photochain Presentation, a Draft for Freelance Photographer" aims to revolutionize the stock photography industry. Fill the presentation and fill the aggregate, photo chayon, solve your photographic problems, your photos, all of the stock photography industry, the problem is that the photography industry is more interested in their industry. While giving it suspicious service, the pictures are divided into several parts

Can't agree whit you more. (Y)

we can help each other to success..
please upvote and follow me..
I am new here...

This comment has received a 0.60 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @isabella69.

i think we can help each other to upgrade our own value and contribute all

can't wait for the platform launching at Q4 2018

counting days :D

Me neither. It will be very exciting, but too bad it's so long to wait.

Same here, just got my first camera and started learning photgraphy. Think I'll be good enough to start contributing when it goes live.

Small point.. You mis-spelled some words in your text and video. For example, the word 'losing' is spelled 'loosing' in the first video. ;)

Good eye, thanks for pointing that out, I would have never noticed that but it wasn't me who made the video :)

Beautiful .. I liked your vision
Well done .. for more creativity
Great post..

This looks amazing so far. Will have to read the whitepaper. As an artist i think this is huge

Thanks! Hope to see you join photochain's photography community contest then :)

really nice idea! good luck whit that :D

I wasn't aware that stockphotography platforms have so many issues and take such a big cut. Knowing that, photographers should opt out of centralized rivals and opt into Photochain.

Very excited about the project. It has a very bright future ahead of itself. Can't wait to see how it develops in the future.

I wasn’t aware either. I assumed photographers had control over their images and decent profits. But centralization usually makes the few rich and the rest get scraps.

hi dear /@ggirl
good & nice article

this one will be big if they can pull it all off! Thanks for bringing this to my attention this is the second time I've heard this platform mentioned by a reputable user.

Looks like I will be delving into the Photochain rabbithole this weekend!

It surely will! I got big expectations for Photochain and I know they will deliver.

Great to have your support! Join us on Discord for any questions: https://discord.gg/prwPd2F

I am sold! I enjoy earning a passive income with stock photography, but the high agency fees are ridiculous, especially when agencies like istock take fees as high as 85%.. I actually had the idea of a stockphoto dApp in mind for over a year and now there are a few dApps that already do something similar, but Photochain looks the most promising so far. Excited for your photo contests!

I'm not surprised to find out that you are into stock photography and yes, the fees are bad. You should have done something about your idea back then.

Me too, really looking foward to building a photography community here.

I have given it some thoughts, a Stockphoto platform as an SMT on the Steem blockchain could have some potential. Photographers would get a reward just for uploading their photos in form of votes like on Steemit and on top of that the reward from each sale minus a small fee that would go to the curators as a kind of eternal curation reward. I actually had a flash of genius a few weeks ago how to call this platform and wanted to register the Steemit account @dstock in case I decided to go ahead with this idea at some point - only to find out that it had been registered three (!) days before already!

Hahaha that was me, as several months ago I started a stock photography project, but realized there were bigger projects already in existence, and bailed on it.
You would have run into several problems, and part of the reason I discontinued it. Steem block chain has no framework for Tier or automatic payouts, as well as a commission concept. That's why all these other startups aren't using steem as their blockchain of choice, it just isn't versatile enough to run a market place.

Also, the harsh reality of selling stock specifically in steem; steem users don't give a damn about copyright infringement and it's why so many like the blockchain. They can steal and post work with no repercussions. As of now, you would be lucky to make any profit or even sustain it.
I pump almost a grand into Dstock, and it opened my eyes, and realized on Steem, it just isn't feasible, you would need a better backing with developers on a more utilized versatile blockchain.
That, and if you notice, these startups are using this as a slight ruse to pump their own 'coin' which they call 'tokens.' It's why they claim to take such a little fee.
Also, there is a lot of protections and markets that the bigger fiat companies are working with, which is why it seems they are taking so much reward.

Sites like these start off the same as any fiat "hey we are on the photographers side!" photo sites. 500px for instance.

I'll sell you the account Dstock and the Domain Dstock.io for 1k USD lol.

At this point I am holding on to the domain for profit, until I get an offer.

If you have ideas, I would recommend investing in .io domains, you might strike gold.

*Or hell if you had some ideas, maybe we can get something going. I, as a one man team, found it wasn't possible, as my limitations were mostly backend development. Site Design marketing, etc... I am capable of, but I am not a coder lol.

Haha, that's funny, great to find out who is behind @dstock! I am studying computer science and have developed some python scripts interacting with the Steem blockchain, but a project like dstock would be a different level.
I think it wouldn't make sense to develop it now when SMTs will change everything in a few months, but when they launch, we could talk about realising dstock together if you like.
My idea would be to create something like a decentralised version of 500px as a SMT including a market place. The problem with transactions could be solved by creating a subscription system such as the one that Shuttterstock and many other microstock agencies have and distribute the payments to the creators at the end of the month minus the fees.

Cool I give ya a follow

Now that's unfortunate, but not a dealbreaker. You should definitely keep working on it and see where it goes. Who knows, maybe @ned hits you with a 1M delegate as a kickstarter :)

True :) We should probably think of rebranding @travelfeed as @dravelfeed or @dtravel as well, it seems like @ned loves D's!

hahahahahahahahahahhaha man this is gold!

Not if they keep it on ETH instead of steem.

I'm not talking about Photochain here. But let me just note that no one would be happier to see them move to Steem/SMTs but as said so many times before who knows when SMTs will finally go live.

in my previous comment I mention why steem won't work for this type of project, at least not yet.

Oh you you mean this completely off base remark?

Steem block chain has no framework for Tier or automatic payouts, as well as a commission concept. That's why all these other startups aren't using steem as their blockchain of choice, it just isn't versatile enough to run a market place.

I'm a 35 year career software development veteran and presently an executive in an enterprise scale international software company, a creator of tools, broadcasting networks and a worldwide charity on steem, a steem witness, and here to tell you, it's not up to steem to handle your payment schemes, it's up to you to know how to program. I can instantly see methods to code tiers and payments systems for any kind of app in the world, and many methods of handling the payout seem immediately obvious to me. Your inability to do so, doesn't make it steem's fault, sorry.

Also, the harsh reality of selling stock specifically in steem; steem users don't give a damn about copyright infringement and it's why so many like the blockchain. They can steal and post work with no repercussions. As of now, you would be lucky to make any profit or even sustain it.

This incorrect generalization is just flat asinine too.

Your inability to program a solution to your issues, and your broad sweeping inaccuracies, make you incapable, not steem.

But your last sentence actually proves that.

I am not a coder lol.

Well, that's clearly obvious by your total inaccuracy and inability to achieve some incredible simple things.

It's not steem that has to do "automatic payouts and tiers" - which it can do, btw, it's up to your app code, your inability to understand and do it, aside... Both happen every single day here.

Please stop spreading misinformation about things you are self described as unable to do, as something else's fault.

Ouch, that's unfortunate! If you still want to attempt the project you could still try with another name. In my humble opinion, Steem SMTs or EOS would be a better fit for a stock photo-project than Ethereum, since they both have no fees and fast block times. Especially since as you say, we could potentially also pay with upvotes here on Steem :)

Agreed, it would be better to go with SMTs if they existed. The fact that the development is taking so long has already driven a lot of businesses away. So lets hope they come soon.

That's completely understandable at this point. It's been forever since Steemit Inc. said that SMTs were right around the corner, but it has been little news since then.

Do you even remember when they first talked about hf 20? It must be like 8 months now..... I just hope EOS doesn't beat us in the race.

This is the main reason I bailed on Dstock.

Steem doesn't have the features within it's structure to run a "marketplace" like stock photography. It's why you see these other stock sites creating their own tokens.

Among other things that steem is very limited to...

When all you have is a hammer, everything starts looking like a nail. Though steem can be manipulated to do a lot of things, it's not a swiss army knife and "other" solutions can be much more elegant on their own.

I agree. :)

Storing the images of millions of photographers on a blockchain, just doesn't seem like a great idea to me. shrug Even steemit, completely depending on services like amazon aws, doesn't sit completely well with me.

What do I know though, eh? lol

You lack vision and skill and capability, not steem....

LOL. Yeah, that's it, attack my character personally.
Should I attack your intelligence, because you obviously have 0 reading comprehension.
If you're looking to just be an ass or start and internet fight with someone, please do it with someone else.

What does it miss to have been able to create a marketplace such as a stock photo marketplace?

Like I mentioned, as of now, there is not way to incorporate/facilitate payouts automatically. Sites like Dtube take a commission off total upvote revenue, but with stock.. you are selling at a set steem price IE: wallet transfers. As of now there isn't a way to have the host (company) receive a payout for the set price, then auto facility the % back to the original owners wallet. It would have to be done manually by had with each transaction. The reason why other cryptos can handle this, is because they allow for smart tokens, where the site creates their own trading currency, within the system.

Totally! The issue is, that at the moment neither EOS nor Steem have tokens, EOS does not even have a blockchain yet and is an ETH20 token itself. I could imagine that Photochain and many other ETH20 tokens will switch to a different blockchain like EOS in a year if Ethereum does not manage to solve its scaling problems until then.

hi dear /@runicar
you are very great man
your article is very favorite to me
promise i read your article everyday

I am quite excited !!! :)

Very good article
click here.png

Nice!

hi dear/@amitsharma
please look at me kindly

I like the idea of this Dapp but someone bought 25M of the total token and buyer is anonymous, it could be a dump once tokens hit exchanges. I will wait out on this til it reaches the exchanges and buy from there. Though I am a noob in photography, I could sell something there too. Who knows :)

I'm sure that there are no malicious intentions behind the investment. Why wait it out just to buy from exchanges at a higher price? Doesn't make any sense.

Every professional photographer started as a noob :)

I'm sure that there are no malicious intentions behind the investment.

So you have the ability to read an investor's mind? That's a pretty bold claim, and a pretty naive one. I believe @allmonitors is a fairly prudent, critical thinker in this case.

yes you are quite right with my decision.

Nice!🤣😃

This sounds extremely interesting, just need to get a decent camera now, but I will have to make the best out of my compact one for now! Those stock photography sites take huge fees, it is about time they have some extrememly healthy competition like this!

You can get a long way with a compact camera, or even a phone camera and some skills. Often that will amount to better pictures than a good camera and less skill ;)

Exactly!

I've seen your pictures, they are not bad at all. You've been talking about getting a new one for a while, now should be a good time to do it then. Looking forward to seeing what you will bring to the contests.

Thanks, @runicar I have been searching for a secondhand one, so hopefully I will fimd something decent soon enough!

I'm sure you will :)

this sounds extremely interesting..

Did you just copy-paste the first sentence of the comment you replied to? Why would you even do that?

Finally something for the little guys in photography. The photo giants have been dominating the field long enough. With the right leadership and the right exposure hopefully some of the little guys can get more exposure and recognition for the hard work that we put into our work! I will be participating in the ICO as I am a professional that would love to see work shared amongst the world in an entirely different way than the current method!

It would be a great solution for freelancing photographer. Let me resteem this post. Wish all the best to the projects.

Thanks for the support!

Photons, nice name. I am always wary of ICOs. All the ICOs I participated in previously have been a negative experience for me. So, I will wait this out and buy from the exchanges. But as a platform, this is really great although I am not a photographer. Thanks for sharing

Excellent work @runicar ! you've come very far since I first met you. Keep it going!

Thanks for the recogniton/encouragement, highly appreciated comming from you.

Thank you. I've been looking for an alternative to the commercial stock photography websites. I'll check it out and post my findings and experience soon as I can.

Glad to have you here! The Dapp itself should go live in about 4-6 months after the ICO finishes. In the mean time we are going to have photography/design contests here on Steemit that I hope you will join. I've seen your blog and must say, great snaps man! Keep up the good work.

Can't wait. I'll keep my eyes open. May even join the ICO. I see there are still a few days left.

Sounds like a great product. There is definitely a need for such a platform. Kodak seems to build one too. What are the differences?

Kodak is doing something similar, the problem with kodak is that they are mostly acting like the current players of the stock photography industry.

What I meant was that kodak will be just like shuttershock or any other company who is now involved with stock photography.They will not decentralise the industry; Kodak will be the intermediary in this "blockchain platform" of theirs and they will keep robbing the photographers.

Ok, understand. Great to hear that this platform will really consider and empower the photographers!

Check out our article on this here: https://medium.com/photochain/a-blockchain-david-vs-goliath-photochain-vs-the-corporations-9dae95f8e6c8

Hit us up on Discord for all your questions.

what a great idea.

I love to join this project and the token sale

Glad to have you onboard! Are you into photography or are you just looking at it as an investor?

A hobby photographer and a bit of investor

I, for one, am pretty excited for the success of this platform, not for the ICO investment potential but for the actual service itself.

Very interesting! As a stocker I understand the necessity of such a stock.
But it is not clear from the description, do they intend to sell vectors too?

Hey, glad to meet a fellow illustrator, even though I'm just a beginner :) Sorry for not making it clear enough, but yes, vectors will be sold also!

Like your style! Followed for more.

Hey, great news! Nice to meet you colleague!

Finally something fair for photographers trying to make something out of their great efforts ! an ICO im very interested in !
Hope this goes well in the future
struggles.jpg

Yes, we finally get some real use out of an ICO project. It surely will, the question is just how many good photos will we have ready to sell when the Dapp goes live.

Because of that image I know you are really into photography. Love that guy and his videos. Checked out your blog, nice snaps! Be on the lookout for Photochain's photography contest next week.

Looking forward to this!!! Being a stockphotographer myself, I welcome each and every project to improve the situation for the photographers!
Upvoted, and resteemed!

What are your eyperiences with stock potography? How is your work appreciated on mentioned platforms?

Well, I’ve been a stockphotographer for 12+ years now, and the financial appreciation of my work has definitely declined bigtime since the coming of microstock. Microstock luckily has matured a bit over the past few years, returning a bit more on average per picture. But, there still is a long way to go to get back to the pre-microstock-levels!

Sad, but not surprised to hear that. Hopefully now, when new, decentralized platforms like Photochain come to life it will be much easier to earn a decent amount by selling stock photos.

Until it happens, there will be many chances to earn in the photography contests starting from next week probably. Looking forward to seeing your snaps (Steemit is bugging out like all hell now and I can't even open your profile, can't get past the 504 error, account doesn't exist)

Noticed it too that steemit is going buggy right now... Hope it gets better soon, so you can see my profile again ;-)
The contests sound interesting! How can I join them?

Well, I’ve been a stockphotographer for 12+ years now, and the financial appreciation of my work has definitely declined bigtime since the coming of microstock. Microstock luckily has matured a bit over the past few years, returning a bit more on average per picture. But, there still is a long way to go to get back to the pre-microstock-levels!

I personally want the success of this project. looks amazing to me.

Wow. Can't wait for this.

Have really been longing to go into photography, but what keeps me waiting is mentorship. I need someone who will coach me to become an excellent photographer, a photographer with a difference.
I'm sure have found one today.
Cheers

There are a lot of helpful tutorials online, especially on yt. Hit me up on discord and I'll send you the best ones I came across by now. Nick on discord is same as here.

This is mind-boggling and will make a lot of photographers very happy because their work will now get a value and plus more stock photographs for people who needs it will get available.

I am happy to see such project

Yes! Lets just hope others will also recognize it.

Goodprojet I participite in bountry

please follow and upvote me

Lovely article to describe a valuable project. I like the layout and fine pictures, which is essential in advertising a photo dapp. Wish you guys the best of success in this service that you are providing for the community.

Glad you liked it!

good article post,,,

@runicar is it in ICO phase or its already done?

ICO is still ongoing. Check out photochain.io for more info

ni very interesting, I make photography as a hobby and happy to know that there is a community like this, how can I join or enter here

I've checked out your blog, great macro shots! Photochains first photography contest will begin in a week, so stay tuned.

thanks @runicar
glad to hear. I'm new in steem, please guidance.

its really looks a great Idea. I gonna check it now.

Great Idea indeed.

It's very interesting. Some cent's for you.Thanks for your job.

this will help all photographer out there, especially doing blockchain transactions. wow, this is cool work.

token sales are up until now.

Free lance photography in a blockchain based Ethereum is I think is amazing project. The issue now is scalability because of the crowded Ethereum recently. I hope it was built on Steem blockchain on a first hand. But lets us see what the future can bring

Yeah, there's some scalability issues on Ethereum right now, but they are working a lot with improving it. But I agree, it would probably have been a better fit for EOS or Steem SMTs. That way they would not have needed to pay any fees either.

I have to agree with you on this. Eth is struggling with scalability and it's about time they figure it out. Well nothing can be built on the Steem blockchain as SMTs aren't here yet. A project like Photochain can't wait that long but we can hope that they will look into it in the future when SMTs finally come to life.

Photography on the Blockchain. Photochain is good choice of name, I like it. Will be watching this one.

Nice find here. Now going to check this out. Thanks for sharing.

image
@donkeysworld

I am very curious about Photochain, the promo video is really good. the ICO have a huge potential. Thumbs up @runicar

i m also very curious

Glad you enjoyed it, thanks for the support!

What I'm seeing from this post is only empty bombastic words about blockchain without any clear idea of how this system will work. Can't stand the repeated grammatical errors in this post either. SteemIt will need to improve the post quality to go any further than just a platform for people to spam and wish to make pennies.

Wow this ia interesting, I make photography as a hobby and its nice to know that theres a community like this, how can I join or sign in here? I really wanted to improve my photos too..

It seems like you still need to wait a while before you can upload your photos for sale on the Photochain website. But in the mean time you can post your photos here on the Steem blockchain to get upvotes instead of sales :)

Yes that’s very true. At least the photographers can get some income here and at steepshot independently by opening an account here and there.

Yep, there's a good potential to earn a nice amount of money here if you post great photos. And as @runicar said, make sure to pay attention for the Photochain's contests, and you can even get Photons without paying for them in the ICO.

Yes, as noted the Dapp is still in the making and that's why they needed an ICO to fund development. In the mean time you can join Photochain's contests that will be announced in a week and start earning your first Photons.

I'm looking forward to the contest. It might be a good way to kickstart taking some photos in preparation for the stock selling ;)

I'll write more about the community aspect in a week, so stay tuned for that post.

I will! Congrats good job

we can help each other..please follow and upvote me...i will back

No and no one will. This kind of behaviour is frowned upon and is not appreciated by anyone so please don't do it in the future. I would much rather give someone an upvote but I have to waste it on flagging you to prove a point.

this looks awesome....very good article..thank you

yes very good article

I think this is a good project, thanks for sharing...

wow you are a genius photographar bro.
thats amazing

Hello
Your post hast just been Resteemed !!! 😄
Because you're my follower. I'll continue to do it..
😉 Thanks for being with FREE Resteem Bot @dzordyr🙂

not bad at all! it sounds like an interesting alternative! and very open for oportunities!

Thank you so much for this!!@small11

There are 4 pages
Pages