Young Guinean seamstress

in #photography7 years ago

Seamstress.jpg

I took this with my point-and-shoot film camera sometime during 1995-7 when I served in U.S. Peace Corps in Guinea, West Africa. I despeckled it somewhat and converted it to grayscale in Photoshop, because I intend to do a pencil sketch of it someday.

Most of the tailors I encountered in Guinean towns were men, so I was impressed to see this young lady at the wheel (in case you didn't notice, that's a manually-operated treadle sewing machine). Her shop was in a town called Sougeta, a few hours by foot from my remote village of Donta in the western-central mountainous region of Guinea. I visited Sougeta weekly either on foot or motorbike to buy foodstuffs at the market, enjoy rice and sauce at my favorite rice "bar", and visit with my townie acquaintances.

I'll probably be posting some stories and more photos of my time there, as the experience had a powerful impact on me, and continues to influence me to this day.

Sort:  

Very nice old image. Interesting, that men did that kind of work, when in most places around the world it would probably be women doing the sewing.

@gentbynature - astute observation! What I noticed in W. Africa is that where there was a chance to make $, you would find men. Also, men NEVER cook at home, but you will easily find them as restaurant-owners and chefs; rarely so women.

Very interesting. My personal experience of Africa is limited to South Africa, where life is a lot more similar to what we are used to in Europe or the US. I wonder if this dynamic has remained to this day. Have you been there since and if so, has there been any noticeable change?

I haven't returned to W. Africa, @gentbynature. I know that Guinea has gone through a civil war or two since then...and ebola as well, but I haven't kept up with anyone there. Maybe I just want to preserve my memories of how things were! Nowadays, Peace Corps volunteers have cell phone and internet service...and digital cameras! Not really the same experience as the old days for sure.

You're probably right. Some things are best left to memory and it's definitely not a part of the world that has seen any good times in recent years.