Hiking in Sedona, Arizona - #Landscapephotography

in #photography6 years ago

DSCF0365 (2).jpg

When I was in college in Flagstaff Arizona which sits at 7,000 feet elevation on the Mogollon Rim Plateau, I had no idea I was so close to the spectacularly beautiful Sedona, Arizona. If you head South West from Flagstaff you will find the beautiful scenic drive down a steep canyon road of switch backs. During severe weather it is much safer to take the highway down to the bottom of the plateau of course because as I unfortunately discovered during the winter I spent in Flagstaff, snow storms are not uncommon there in there higher elevations.

I took this picture while hiking in Sedona and it was a fantastic site. I was scouting for an Elk at the time when I took this unknowing they actually prefer the higher elevation areas on the plateau of the Mogollon Rim rather than in the desert canyons of Sedona. Seeing no elk was fine though because the the red rocks canyons, the dramatic eroded edges of the plateau and the the ponderosa pine forests that covered the top of these plateaus were amazing enough for me to witness. I had no idea so complexity existed in Arizona for someone who was expecting a state covered in cactus and desert, I had quite the year of out door adventures. From the Grand Canyon, to Havasupai Falls, to Sedona... Flagstaff and the surrounding areas North and North West of Flagstaff were spectacular!

I need to find my Havasupai Falls photos. That is a trip worth sharing too!

Thank you for checking out my #photo and entry for #photocontests by @juliank.

Have a great day!

#Steem #Steemit #yourluckyphotos #mspsteem #Happy365steem #love #beauty #adventure #life #hiking #blog #travel

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.32 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @janellelanae.

You got a 4.00% upvote from @ipromote courtesy of @janellelanae!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.