You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gardner Caves Crawford State Park in Washington State

in #photography7 years ago

There are some other really cool caves by Mount St. Helens. The ape caves. They were formed by the lava when Mount St. Helens blew back in 1980. The lava tubes is what some call them. The walls are black and smooth really cool. Bring a head lamp, you can't see your hand in front of your face when u are in there.
Awesome pictures. We think things on the surface of the earth are amazing but often times what lies underneath is just as amazing.
STEEM ON!!

Sort:  

Yeah the ape caves are really cool as well I have not been in years. A few buddies and I went several times when I was younger. I would love to go back, I didn't take nearly enough photos. It is amazing what we find under out feet. I thank you for checking this out.

It's been a long time for me too. We did the caves one day. Then hiked to the top Mount St. Helens the next day in the snow. Let's just say the way down was a lot faster than the way up. 😉

That would have been a blast. I love to get into the wilderness a bit. Its been a while since my last good hike. I used to love hiking the Olympic peninsula their are some amazing hikes there. The cascades are beautiful as well. Washington really has some outstanding places.