Gardner Caves Crawford State Park in Washington State

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Gardner Cave

Gardner cave Is a small cave located in the north eastern part of Washington state near the Canadian border, a few miles form the small town Metaline Falls.

The cave is located in Crawford state park a 49 acre day use park. This cavern is the third longest limestone cavern in Washington State. The cave is named after the original homesteader who lived on the property, it was found in 1903 by Ed Gardner. The land was later willed to the state parks system. The cave is a cold and damp but beautiful it is worth the drive to go see.

I hope you enjoyed the photos I took while visiting this cave with my daughter. This Is a very interesting place to visit it is only open seasonally and while it is open you only have access with a guide. The tour is a free tour guided by a parks service ranger. This is a great place to visit.

Thanks for taking the time to check this out !

Sort:  

There are some other really cool caves by Mount St. Helens. The ape caves. They were formed by the lava when Mount St. Helens blew back in 1980. The lava tubes is what some call them. The walls are black and smooth really cool. Bring a head lamp, you can't see your hand in front of your face when u are in there.
Awesome pictures. We think things on the surface of the earth are amazing but often times what lies underneath is just as amazing.
STEEM ON!!

Yeah the ape caves are really cool as well I have not been in years. A few buddies and I went several times when I was younger. I would love to go back, I didn't take nearly enough photos. It is amazing what we find under out feet. I thank you for checking this out.

It's been a long time for me too. We did the caves one day. Then hiked to the top Mount St. Helens the next day in the snow. Let's just say the way down was a lot faster than the way up. 😉

That would have been a blast. I love to get into the wilderness a bit. Its been a while since my last good hike. I used to love hiking the Olympic peninsula their are some amazing hikes there. The cascades are beautiful as well. Washington really has some outstanding places.

I am not even checking my Voting power lol...UPVOTED
thank you for sharing this! This quite interesting stuff! I wonder how it really feels like to be inside their... are their any bats?

Yes there where a few of them little creatures thank goodness they stayed their distance..lol It was really amazing, when we went it was in the upper 90 f outside and I knew it would be chilly so I made my daughter take a light sweatshirt and by the time we got to the bottom it was really cold like in the 50 f Id say I was really bummed I didn't bring a coat. It was damp as well you would occasionally get a drip form the ceiling. It was a cool in many ways . I try to get to some cool local places when we can since its been just her and I for some time.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Beautiful photos! First tim I see a post about a cave on Steemit :) Was also thinking of going and sharing the experience, lucky there's loads of caves in sLOVEnia <3 Thanks for sharing have a nice day n' #keepsteemin

Thank you caves can be cool I enjoy them and had never seen another post on one either. I only live about an hour form this one. We have a few around not many with this much beauty at least close. Im glad you liked it

Love caving. Gonna have to put this one on my bucket list. upvoted.

Yes it is a cool place not real deep but enough that its crazy dark when the light is out. I enjoy caving to this was a great intro for my daughter because it is only like 1055 feet deep and with a guide she was cool.. lol it was fun

I Love the gif. Now I will have to watch the movie, its been forever since Ive seen it.

The principal! He will give me TP! I would hate for my bungholio to get polio....Where I come from, we have no bunghole.

That cracks me up!! @cornholio funny stuff

Do you have T.P. for my bunghole? I would hate for my bungholio to get polio.