Tell Me Your Solution....?

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Everyone knows what it's like to feel lonely.

Nowhere is this more prevalent than in the elderly. I spent a lot of time working in old folk homes when I was younger. I almost feel like everyone should have to do this for a while. I learned a lot from talking and listening to the elderly in my care.

I also, unfortunately, witnessed many of the elderly being ignored, scorned, and treated like little kids.

In one case I even witnessed horrific abuse (the perpetrator was caught and fired).

The elderly have so many years of wisdom they can share with us.

And it's incredibly sad and unacceptable that we live in a world (in the West) where elderly people are often dismissed as useless and ignorant.

This needs to change.

I believe that people who have jobs where they are looking after our elderly should be paid more, and highly screened. I also believe that more money and time should be spent on ensuring that it's easy for the elderly to stay integrated and connected with society.

Other than this, I don't have any answers though.

Do you?

33581035302_f09858c551_o.jpg
photo by @johleen

Sort:  

Perhaps allowing them to join steemit could be a solution? Of course this would probably need to be done by the help of the retirement home and the personnel there. Maybe for example they can use touch screen and pen to write the posts . I think a lot of the knowledge and experience of elders is not valued anymore, and this could be a channel where their stories truly can be appreciated !

Oh gosh, of course that would be fantastic haha! Yep, getting them set up and showing them how to post... then they could just write and share their experiences. Fab idea.

Surely there are companies building technology solutions for senior care facilities? It would be great to include Steemit in that package.

I also think there are plenty of people building these technologies, i think this is a way technology can be adopted my more elderly and it would be cool to have more elderly people on steemit and listen to their point of view, in the end experience is the most important thing when it comes to learning

As someone born in 1950 I thank you for that encouragement. I joined steemit last month, encouraged by my son in law, and I just love the writing, and sharing of thoughts but my biggest problem is getting to grips with the computer and computer speak, let alone steemit terms and bitcoins. What's that all about??

It seems like you are doing well, I just checked your blog!. Well there is a learning curve for everyone no matter the age with steemit. But once getting a hand of it it is really captivating. There is a lot of bitcoin talk here and other crypto currencies and there are terms that are hard to understand, I focus more on other post material though where my interest lay.

Thank you. Absolutely!

In our culture we never leave our parent or old folks in any home for the agent we usually take care of them till their last day. Its our way of giving back the care and love they showed and for raising us. That what family is all about. I know not everyone is like our culture but im glad we have this traits.

Society has started getting weird and cold, it seems the distance is growing between us the more the economy is developing.

True. I don't think it will last though. I hope not. At the end of the day, people will gravitate back towards what they know is good and true and right... I hope!

That's wonderful... Whereabouts do you live? I completely agree, that should be what family is all about. I feel like here in the UK so many people live in small, insular family units that it can become impossible to look after an elderly parent if they need a lot of care around the clock.

Im from Philippines.. even here no matter how small or big our house or no matter how rich or poor the people is. It always important that family is stay together.

This post received a 4.3% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @johleen! For more information, click here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Johleen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

What does it mean to be Catholic and not a Catholic? I feel adrift, homeless. My Catholic imagination allows me to see the soul as a lit breath, seeking the divine. It persists.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

@johleen I agree with you 100% about that people who work with elderly should be screened and paid more. I live in country where there are not enough qualified people to work with elderly and the ones we have are underpaid and buried in work. It is sad situation.

Hi @m31, yep exactly this.

This post has received a 1.80 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johleen.

This post has received a 0.87 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @johleen.

It's true elderly should be treated with more respect. Those taking care of them should take a more human approach at them.

It's almost worst with people who have memory problems. Some just ignore them "They won't remember anything of this soon", but.. if you make someone with poor memory happy, I know the happiness might last even though they don't remember why they are happy.

I've seen it and I know it's possible. It's not a lot of work to make someone feel appreciated and happy.

Yes! Love this. You can make someone feel happy or appreciated by just taking a little time with them and treating them with respect. And yes, it's true... when people start to lose their memories, they can be taken for granted even more. But a human life is a human life, no matter what. And giving a moment of happiness, whether it's remembered or not, is a very special gift that returns tenfold.

I'm happy we think the same way :)

Being nice to someone requires no extra effort and it makes everybody feel better.

Gosh, there's so much to point out on this subject! Traditionally, Asian families stay close and the elderly are well cared for and included. But things change and modernisation happened! People tend to move towards thinking and reacting to age as being 'uncool'!!! As if everyone doesn't age! Like you pointed out - more needs to be done - even if not because of compassion, then be selfish and think about one day when we are all old... Perhaps, that might work in getting more efforts focused on caring for the elderly!

Haha yes, perhaps you're right! But whether through compassion or selfishness, I hope to see things changing for the better!

Yes, we all hope so! Thank you for bringing this subject up!

Want to cause everyone to focus on it? Figure out how they can make more money by doing it than anything else. Then, promote it.

Thank you for sharing your story. I can relate to this. I volenteer every friday at tan elderly home near my house. I do their nails. They love it but I love hearing their stories. I treat them like a human and not like another old person.
Here in the Netherlands it's pretty hard and difficullt for the older people. I know I can't change their lives rght now but at least I give every friday 20 people a great afternoon and lovely nails :)
Thank you for your post... <3

And thank you so much for your comment! This made me smile, I bet they really look forward to you visiting and doing their nails every week. Little things can mean so much. :)

You're welcome. And they really like it when I come over. And if one day I can't make it then the next week when I get back they keep asking if I am doing ok> Are the kids alright? No problems?? They really get worried.
Sometimes I also bring my daughters allong. The girls have a great time to and all the people really love it to :)

That really does sound lovely! My other half is a musician and he spent some time going to old folks homes to play and sing some tunes. They absolutely loved it. :))

Such an important topic to bring up! I believe the change begins with each of us personally doing what we can to reach out and love and listen to the elders in our own lives- whether they be relatives, neighbors, or someone you stop to make conversation with on the street or in the grocery store. Then, as villages and towns, I've seen some local organizations and churches do a great job at putting people with a desire to help in touch with those who need the help or may not be able to leave their home. Sometimes this takes some research on the individual's part. But rewarding long term friendships are so beneficial to all involved.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.