Secret places of London

in #photography7 years ago

Hey guys,

Today I'd like to share these secret places I discovered when living in London. It's such a vibrant city full of innovative concepts but also decades of history. There are so many things to share so please bear with me. I'll be revisiting this theme for sure in the future!

Previously, I did a blog about Creepy Places in Paris which inspired my on-going comic series called Shades Of Men. Surprisingly I haven't written any stories taking place in the beautiful London but I'm sure it will come one way or another.

Now let's discover those fascinating places together. Grab a pint and hold on to your hats. You're in for a treat!


The Shoreditch Area


As an artist myself, I had to start with this area of London. Might not be the most hidden but it's not your usual tourist tour.
This is located in the North East of London, at the edge of zone 1 from the tube. It's a pretty trendy area with it's cool bars and vintage clothes stores. Also, it's filled with amazing street art everywhere.
tn_DSC_9510-copy.jpg

shoreditch-london-art-7.jpg

They change often as new ones come around. I even saw interactive ones that would require an app for the full experience. It also featured art from the famous Banksy. So famous he's even has exibitions in New York and Bristol! Also T-shirts... Yes...

banksy_balloon_girl_downey-artOfTheState.jpg

If you ever plan a trip there, I recommend doing the Shoreditch Street Art Tour that will guide you through the maze and provide very good insight on this alternative world.


A Hidden Temple


Not any kind of temple... This is an authentic greek Masonic temple built in 1912 which cost 50000 GBP at the time. The equivalent to 4 million GBP today! The place is used for conference, meet ups and even weddings now a days since it is located in the heart of a 5 star hotel called the Andaz Liverpool Street from Hyatt.

Andaz-London-Liverpool-Street-P747-Masonic-Temple.gallery-2-3-item-panel.jpg

They say it was hidden for years by a fake wall and that Jack the Ripper used to visit the place. Creepy, right?
I can say there's a very spiritual atmosphere once you entered it. Light up a few candles, sit on the Grand Master's chair and you can really feel the vibe of an actual Freemason ceremony. Check out this interview from the Sales representative who explains much more about it!

tkawasqokmp.jpg


Another Galaxy!?!


Finally, why not leave the Earth and experience a whole different universe. At least that's what Secret Cinema wants to make you feel! This company organize immersive shows with actors reenacting scenes from various movies. Each time different! They select secret locations revealed last minute and create a whole universe to interact with. Check out these pics from there Star Wars Empire Strike Back experience.

nintchdbpict000287420414.jpg

secretcinema_5.jpg

I haven't had the chance to assist one of these shows but I saw a whole documentary. Damn-- That's impressive!
Must be a ton of work guiding the participants from start to finish without "breaking character". Whenever I go back to London I'll be sure to get a spot for that...


That concludes our journey through the hidden gems of UK's capital. Don't hesitate to share places you love in the city.
I know there are tons of cool places so I'm sure you have one!

Feel free to Follow me for more art, craft and stories.

See you on the other side,

Jrej

Sort:  

Hehe thanks for the comment. I'll be sure to check out your profile!

I try my best! Thanks for checking it out!