How to Grow New Succulent Plants From Leaves + How to Pot Succulent Plants

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Today, I want to share how I grew new baby succulents from my succulent plant. When I potted my succulent plant a few of the leaves fell off (by fell, I mean I clumsily knocked them off). I felt so bad about damaging my plant, but quickly remembered a friend of mine said she had grown new plants from her fallen leaves, so I knew I had to try this! Succulents are a favorite of mine because they are super cute and pretty easy to care for. Without further ado, let's get onto the tutorial!

IMG_8372.jpg

The first step is to prepare fallen leaves for regrowth:

  • Choose a leaf that is not severely bruised or damaged
  • Inspect leaf to see if attachment site is undamaged, if so you're good to go
  • Let leaves dry out for a few days
  • Place on shallow plate or dish on a shallow bed of soil
  • Spritz daily and watch in amazement as a new baby plants form before your eyes
  • Once new plant forms, wait until original "mommy" leaf starts to shrivel and dry before removing it, this leaf should fall off very easily with a slight nudge. If it does not separate easily from the plant it is not ready to be removed.
    - Note: It takes a few weeks to notice new changes in your leaves, but keep at it because once they start to grow, they progress fast.

IMG_8318.jpg

IMG_8317.jpg

IMG_8358.jpg

Supplies for planting:

  • Pot, cup, terrarium, planter, etc of choice. I chose a vintage teacup!
  • Potting soil that is compatible with succulents
  • Large and small rocks for drainage(only necessary if planter of choice doesn't have drainage holes)
    -Note: Because my planter was very small, I only needed to use small rocks.

IMG_8354.jpg

Instructions for planting:

  • Fill planter a quarter of the way to half of the way with rocks
  • If using big rocks place those in planter first, followed by smaller rocks
  • Fill the rest of the way with soil
  • Place plant in soil making sure roots are nestled into the soil
  • Spritz baby plant and soil with water
  • Continue to spritz baby plant daily
    -Note: As plant grows larger, it may require heavier and less frequent watering

IMG_8356.jpg

IMG_8359.jpg

IMG_8380.jpg

Hope you all enjoyed this tutorial!

All photographs and content are my own.

Sort:  

Wow, I had no idea this was possible. I've had a couple of accidents with my succulents as well, if I only knew this beforehand. Ah well, for next time :) thank you!

Im so so so happy that you found my post useful! Thanks for commenting.

cool post )

Thanks for the feedback! :)

amazing, thanks for sharing this!

No prob thanks for the comment! :)

Fantastic. now you have a new follower!

Thanks for the feedback and the follow!!