Art and friendship w/ Hayley in Minneapolis!

Hi, Steemit! I’m not sure if I should say “good evening”, or “good morning” at this hour, really. Eh. We’re all over the time zone map so who cares. I’m up late tonight, making this post at 1:30a.m. I’m wearing a lot of hats at the moment. Spending all day with @guthrie at home […currently boycotting this heatwave in doors], working on illustration for a wine bottle label job […I’ll probably share that when it’s finished], catching up on edits for clients and of course, blogging about them […that’s the now part]. All of that usually means getting to sleep close to 2:00a.m. or later.

Tonight’s photography are a series of captures of my good friend, Hayley. I’ve known this sweet girl for years. We’d met shortly after I’d moved to Minneapolis and those friends will always have a special place in my heart. She’s stood by me through some of the worst times of my life and more recently, been able to celebrate the best of times of my life. She’s featured in @wcpublishing’s Dark Pinup book and as of tonight, I have a few new photos of her to share with Steemit.

 This shoot almost didn’t happen. I was overcome with a horrible flu and just at the tail end of that illness last November, I was finally starting to feel like I could stand getting out of bed. I did, and fortunately, she lives down the road from me. Dwella is a local Twin Cities make-up artist and model that came on for this shoot. When I arrived, Hayley was hair and make-up ready. We took a few minutes to catch up over fancy hippy tea […something Hayley knows everything about], the set off throughout her place finding suitable locations to shoot.

Like many of the NE Minneapolis condos and artist lofts, it’s a unique cross-pollination of industrial and residential. Some of the newer apartments are old warehouses that’ve been converted in to luxury living areas. The insides of Hayley’s apartment had beautiful open windows and exposed brick. As a photographer, you couldn’t ask for me…except there was more!

In the common room on the higher floors, there was a giant open space with beautiful furniture and a contained, brushed metal gas fireplace. As a photographer that’s known for my use of low light, I immediately had Hayley huddle up on the floor next to the orange flames. We also had access to the rooftop which made for a beautiful […albeit cold] photo with the Minneapolis skyline in the background. It was one of my most enjoyable shoots of the year. Finishing these images up for Hayley is such a great feeling. I applaud and appreciate her patience. Such a great model and such a great friend.

Thanks for reading. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work […which are often told late, late at night], follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

6E7C6B07-7C7A-4BD0-A7F9-963BBD57CCCE.gif

As always, stunning work man :) I've been a bit out of it on steemit lately, but has your book come out yet? Can I buy it with steem?

I also wanted to reach out to you, because I'm going to attempt a "steemstarter" campaign this month. Could I trouble you to give me your thoughts on the format I've outlined?

https://steemit.com/art/@drwatson/ithaqa-steemstarter-update

Oh man I love the 2 color palettes here. The colder blue toned outside shots work great with the warmer inside shots. Fantastic work as always!

Thanks @davekavanagh! I love shooting locations with a variety of light sources, especially considering I never set this stuff up. It's just always happy accidents. My favorite is when I can combine light sources like this in the same shot. Usually a window around dusk and a lamp in a dark room will do it. Appreciate the kind words my friend.

HAHAHAHA its 3:22 in the afternoon here in the philippines ! :) by the way, you have a very good photograph today sir. i like the middle picture. so hot.

Thank you @aziliderf91012! Yeah, I've made a lot of friends here on Steemit that are all over the world. My friend @eveuncovered is always seeing my posts as soon as she wakes up, lol

And there wasn't a post for me to drool over this morning! 😤

Amazing..good job..

Thank you very much @azroel!

hahaha good night, your photos remind me of the gothic city of Batman, what a good job, resteem + upvote, greetings !! XD

Oh, man! Any Batman reference to my photos will go straight to my heart @huascargarcia! Thank you!

The clothes that your friend Hayley used are very nice and sensual and next to your style and Photography looks great.

Definitely @kommienezuspadt you're the best!!! 😘

Awwwww! Thank you @yanes94! She is a beauty. I'm lucky to work with such lovely, talented models.

I bet you're the envy of many men. Successful, surrounded by beautiful women and also you have EOS hehehehe

Well, She's cute

Yeah, she is @jo-omar. Total sweetheart, too.

very good photos.. her face truly speaks to the camera! sexy and calming

Wow, very cool

OMG! The last two pictures 😍

Amazing Photography.Model and Looking and Dress-up so Nice and sexy.2nd photo so 18+.
Around all side very cool.
@kommienezuspadt

It’s always a good feeling to have friends that live close to you!

It's very impressive your work! The sessions are magnificent, total success, in fact the model is beautiful, has an imposing look, is very sensual at the time of posing and is WOW! Great job

Photograhy is life.....Jeeeez#She is beautiful!!