Making things right with Vintage Jenna!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Good evening, Steemians! Today was exactly the nonstop, high crypro-energy day I expected it to be. I walked up to the Roseville Apple Store at 10:30a.m., just as they opened with Shift card in hand. Tomorrow I’ll be doing an in-depth review and unboxing of the new iPad Pro. After that, @vermillionfox, @mada, @lovejoy and I went to a great all you can eat sushi place in uptown called Kyoto and talked Steemit projects, crypto-futures and ideas to get back to my comic book project, Cryptopia. The next few hours were a blur, making time to help @mtbmondo with some film promotional work and now home. @millsguthrie is in bed and I have a great photography post to share.

Her name is Jenna and we’d followed one another on Instagram for years. It was always this accepted understanding that one day, we would shoot together. She’s a beautiful, slender vintage enthusiast living outside of LA. About a year ago, I visited my friend Rick Miller’s Surf Club Art Gallery in Hollywood for an opening night that I had two photos on display. That was the night I finally met Jenna! She was even more stunning in person!

Jenna and I stayed in touch and when I announced my annual NOIR I LA event, it wasn’t long before I got a form and deposit notification that she was signing up! I was ecstatic! She drove over 2 hours south from Bakersfield and arrived at The Biltmore Hotel in downtown LA. She, and all of the women that participated in NOIR were made shoot ready by a world class beauty team and styled in lingerie by one of my sponsors, What Katie Did lingerie. She looked absolutely perfect and despite the fatigue of 11 previous shoots, I was on an adrenaline rush to photograph Jenna!

The shoot was incredible, but this story takes a tragic twist. When I got back to Minneapolis and began browsing the images, I was getting a corrupt image data error. On every single photo! I tried not to panic and inserted the original memory card, and again saw hundreds of corrupt data icons as my heart sank, deeper and deeper. I had a really hard time coming to terms with this reality as weeks went on and all attempts at recovering the data failed. I eventually called her, and broke the news. I said “…I can either refund you, I can fly you to Minneapolis for a make up shoot, or I’ll meet you in LA to shoot again.”.

Jenna was disappointed, of course, but her understanding of the situation is what really cemented her in my heart as an exceptional human being. She took it as little more than a “It happens”, opinion. Far more mature than I was as it ate me alive. I made a hasty decision to fly back to LA just a few short weeks later, and THIS is the shoot you’re seeing here on Steemit tonight.

Jenna met me at a beautiful Mid-Century Modern home in Fullerton, CA. I booked one of the absolute best make-up artists I know; Amber Rose, one of my friends from Minneapolis who was Prince’s MUA for years. Jenna is a diehard vintage collector and brought a huge variety of wardrobe and like that, the shoot was completed. My debt to her fulfilled, and photos that turned out even better than the NOIR debacle. Hope you enjoyed them!

I post daily so if you’d like to see more photography, illustration, art and writings, please follow me @kommienezuspadt! Have a great night!

Sort:  

OK memory card problems are good excuse for not being in yesterday’s DPS @kommienezuspadt 😉 And now… what card did you use this time?

Beautiful woman and work as usual.

Beautiful shots, not sure if it digital effects or lighting but great use of mute coloring type of feel in a lot of the shots, she is beautiful and garments were great choices too, thanks for sharing.

No digital lighting effects @cryplectibles! Some of those light leaks are just from shooting around the corner of windows and walls. Thanks for the comment and vote!

Awesome to hear it was natural lighting, makes them even better.

oh i like those. Greets Photono

The tatoos are so cute on the beautiful lady..great pictures and choice of colors and locations, thanks for sharing

the picture of you in the red nightie reminds me of an actress from the 30s or 40s but cant remember her name, but it has that look to it, know what i mean?

Wow, that is tough to find out about the images that first time. I also like how you were willing to make the situation correct in any way that you could. I'm also glad that she was able to take it in stride and you guys were able to have this great photo shoot that shared with us!

She was such a peach about it @dzboston33! I was so grateful for her understanding and I definitely didn't mind having the chance to photograph her again!

Wow! Guess it was worth the stress. These are AMAZING. I'll be following for more. Cheers!

Thanks so much @christienelson! Thank you for the follow as well!

Such wonderful photos and a gorgeous model... and here I am salivating over the upcoming iPad Pro unboxing....

ahhhh beautiful

Very highly appreciated and upvoted. Jenna is really sensational. Please can you post another. This one is the best:

I agree. This photo has the most natural and relaxing feel to it. @kommienezuspadt Great work and an upvote.

Waiting for further posts

Man what a great vintage atmosphere have you creat d with those photos. Thumbs up!

Glad to hear everything was good at the end, and that Jenna was generous enough to repeat the shooting @kommienezuspadt. I was wondering who is providing wardrobe for your shootings… Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $30.59 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Nice photos!

I follow and upvote you please follow me
I Am painting
thank you

Nice work @kommienezuspadt Resteem Upvote🙂

add to my daily top

You never stop amazing me with your pics. Crazy nice shots. Thanks for sharing.
PS: upvoted with all my power :D